The Library subscribes to journal collections or individual journal titles so you can access electronic articles that would otherwise require a fee.
In this page we review the different ways you can access an article's text depending on where you start:
- A citation or a link to the publisher's site (DOI)
- Library Search results
- Resource Lists
- Google Scholar
If the Library does not have the article you want, you can request it via an inter-library loan.
Open Access articles do not require a fee or subscription to access the full text online.
From a citation or a link to the publisher's site (DOI)
If you followed a DOI link to the journal's publisher website, the best way to check if you can access the full article is to search for the article title in BCU Library Search.
In a BCU Harvard style citation, the article title comes after the publication date like in this example:
Aubrey, C., Ghent, K. and Kanira, E. (2012) Enhancing thinking skills in early childhood. International Journal of Early Years Education, 20(4), pp. 332-348. https://doi.org/10.1080/09669760.2012.743102.
Once you have identified the article title, search for it in BCU Library Search.
Searching for an article title
- Paste the article full title in the Library Search box
- Select the Articles search option and click the search button
You may also filter an everything search by selecting the Articles resource type under Refine your search.
If you are not familiar with the citation format of journal articles used in your discipline, consult the referencing guide.
From Library Search results
Make sure to Sign-in !
Some records or full-text links only show for BCU students and staff. If you see the yellow "Sign-in" banner in Library Search, make sure to sign-in.
Look for the Available Online, Get PDF or Read Online links
Some articles come with direct links to the article: Get PDF or Read Online. You can download the PDF for offline viewing while the journal's website offers additional features such as referencing links and citation metrics.
The Available Online link opens the detailed item view with links to the Journal website.
From Resource Lists
From Google Scholar
Google Scholar is a popular search engine for academic publications and journals. The main issue is that links will lead you to the publisher's website (like a DOI link) where you may face a paywall.
Use Google Scholar for BCU (with Library Search links)
BCU Library can display a direct access link in Google Scholar results if an article is part of the Library's collections.
For the links to appear you must use the specific version of Google Scholar for BCU linked below.
You can find the Google Scholar for BCU Library link in the A-Z of databases. Remember to bookmark the link to Google Scholar for BCU.
Open Access
An increasing number of journals include open access articles alongside articles restricted to subscribers.
This means more research outputs are available without a subscription to the journal.
In Library Search, look for the Open Access badge under the item's description or enable the Open Access option under the Availability filters.
Learn more about Open Access and find lists of databases per faculty in the Open Access guide.
If the Library does not have the article you want
I can't find a print journal article in Library Search
Library search only indexes journal titles and only the articles that are available electronically (e-articles).
This means you can find print titles but not the articles within each printed issue.
Some journals publishers offer an searchable index on their website. Otherwise you have to browse the table of content in each print issue to find out its content. See Consulting Print Titles to learn how tho find printed journals within the campus libraries.
The article I need is beyond the Library collection
If you come across a journal article or a journal issue that is not available through BCU Library subscriptions, we can try to request it from another library via the Inter-Library Loan service.
If we are able to obtain it, we usually send an electronic copy to your BCU email address, either as a link for download or as an attachment or via your Library Search account.
If we are able to borrow a whole journal issue for you, this will made available to borrow or refer to from the library Help Desk you selected as a pickup location when placing your order.
If you have any suggestions for stock that does not appear on the Library Search results but you think may benefit you and other students on your course, please submit your suggestion.