Open Access: Articles
This guide brings together key resources to help you to discover open access academic publications that can be read online and used for learning, teaching and research.
Your collection management librarian updates this list periodically. If you have any suggestions, please contact your librarian.
Open Access articles
- arXiv This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text Open Access journal articles on topics including computer science, economics and electrical engineering. - Core This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Open Access journal articles and research papers. - Directory of Open Access Journals This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for Open Access journals on subjects including science, technology, medicine, social science and humanities. - JSTOR: Open Content This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Open Access book and journals. - OpenAIRE Explore This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Open Access research data and outcomes from journal articles and projects.
- OSF Preprints - Center for Open Science
- This link opens in a new window
Discover projects, data, materials, and collaborators on OSF that might be helpful to your own research.
Faculty-specific collections
Arts, Design and Media (ADM)
- Architecture_MPS
- This link opens in a new window
A multi-disciplinary architecture journal covering social and political interpretation of the built environment. - Charrette
- This link opens in a new window
This is the peer-reviewed journal of the association of architectural educators (aae) and focuses on architectural education. - Journal of Jewellery Research
- This link opens in a new window
It is peer-reviewed and focuses on design, theory and praxis of jewellery studies. - Open Arts Journal
- This link opens in a new window
This peer-reviewed journal spans multiple communities including practitioners, historians of art, architecture and design, curators, arts policy makers and researchers in arts and heritage.
Business, Law a Social Sciences (BLSS)
- Criminology Open
- This link opens in a new window
Covers publications, educational resources, data, analytic code, software and more; conceivably, any input, tool, or product of criminological inquiry. - IMF Essential Reading Guides
- This link opens in a new window
Links to full text publications, additional IMF resources and pre-defined searches help researchers get a quick start to projects in these areas. - Law Review Commons
- This link opens in a new window
Law Review Commons is the largest collection of open access law journals mainly published by US and Canadian universities. - Sociology and Criminology journals
- This link opens in a new window
Free access to a wide range of law and criminology articles
Computing, Engineering and the Built Environment (CEBE)
- IET Journals
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Open Access journals published by the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). - Cryptology ePrint Archive
- This link opens in a new window
The Cryptology ePrint Archive provides rapid access to recent research in cryptology.
The papers on these servers have not been through a peer-review process so the academic quality of the content has not been verified. - IEEE Open
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of Engineering and Computing open access journals. - Hindawi Open Access Journals Collection
- This link opens in a new window
Mathematics, Engineering and Computer Science open access journals from Hindawi.
Health, Education and Life Sciences (HELS)
- PLOS Journals This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for peer-reviewed science and medicine articles and research from the PLOS journals.
- Human Protein AtlasThe Human Protein Atlas portal is a publicly available database with millions of high-resolution images showing the spatial distribution of proteins in 44 different normal human tissues and 20 different cancer types, as well as 46 different human cell lines
- PEDro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, is a free database of over 38,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy. - SpeechBITE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
SpeechBITE is a free database of sources of evidence, including research studies and guidelines, for speech and language professionals.
Databases icons key:
Help pages and user guide.
Open Access.
Podcast available.
App available.
Library dashboard post.