The Library subscribes to nearly 300 print journals, magazines and other serial publications. Recent issues are on display near the libraries help desks while previous issues are stored on shelves.
Some journals such as Royal College of Organists journals are part of the Records and Archive Centre or ADM Archives collections, while the legal practice materials are stored in the rolling stacks at the Curzon library.
On Display
You will find recent journals, magazines and newspapers displayed near the help-desk or the library entrance.
You can read journals and magazines while you are in the library. If you need a copy of a printed article for your research, use the multi-function printers to copy or scan. Make sure to comply with copyright guidelines when copying resources provided by the Library.
Curzon library (City centre)
At the Curzon library, The displays are located on the ground floor near the atrium staircase.
School of Art library (Margaret St.)
Recent issu
es are located at the entrance of the School of Art library, near the help desk.
School of Jewellery (St. Paul Sq.)
You cannot miss the current journal issues display as you enter the School of Jewellery library.
Journals storage locations
Print journal titles are published in periodical issues throughout the year. Past years issues are usually bound into volumes or regrouped into boxes which are ordered alphabetically and chronologically on the shelves.
Curzon library (City centre)
Most journals are stored in rolling stacks located on the Curzon library ground floor. Titles are organised alphabetically. Look at the posters on each row for instructions about using the rolling stacks.
Directions to the rolling stacks
-
Enter the library from the ground floor and turn left after the security gates.
-
Go past the printers and bathroom.
-
Continue straight ahead until you reach the last row of shelving on the right.
Mary Seacole library (City-south)
The Mary Seacole library is located on the ground floor of the City South campus.
Directions to the journals shelves
- Past the entrance, walk to your left.
- After the Help Desk, turn right towards the Quiet Study room.
- Open the double doors near the printers. Journals are on your left though the doors.
School of Art library (Margaret St.)
The journal storage shelves are located in the ground floor's second room of the School of Art library.
School of Jewellery (St. Paul Sq.)
At the School of Jewellery library, the journals are stored in the first row behind the help desk.
Can't find an issue?
If you need help locating a printed issue, ask a librarian at the help desk.
Outside of office hours you may chat with a librarian on the 24/7 chat service or find answers in the FAQs.
University Archive and Special Collections
The University Archive and Special Collections Centre is located on the ground floor in the South-West corner study area behind the help-desk.
The University Archive and Special Collections Centre is accessible on request. Please contact the archivist to book a viewing.
Parkside - Arts Design & Media Faculty Archives
Visit the Arts Design & Media faculty archives website for more information.