Use databases to stay current, explore a subject or conduct a comprehensive search.
You can find databases via Library search, access them all from the A-Z of databases page and get recommendations in the subject guide related to your course.
Some databases require to create an account or use a specific username and password to access.
What is a Database?
Academic databases are electronic collections of specialist information that include archived articles, research papers, the latest reports, relevant journals and more.
Why are databases useful?
The advantage of databases relies in their advanced search engines that index many different types of information: books, journals, industry specific documents, reports, consumer magazines, video, music, etc ...
Databases often specialise in a specific type of content or a specific discipline.
For instance, Kanopy is a streaming service specialised in movies, while Lexis+ includes cases, books, guidance, legislation, journals and tools to support law studies and legal work.
Which databases are recommended for my subject?
The best place to find databases that are useful in your field of study is the library subject guide that relates to your discipline.
Each subject guide includes a page about key databases.
How do I access databases?
The A-Z Databases page lists all the databases that are well known or to which the Library subscribes. The links to paid databases are updated frequently so we recommend to share the link of the A-Z of database page instead of the database's website.
Most databases work with BCU's single sign-on, so you should be able to connect seamlessly.
If you are prompted for a login, check the Other usernames and passwords page as some databases require to create an account or use a specific username and passwords.
If you experience other difficulties accessing a database, check the Library Systems Dashboard for know issues or contact us so we can investigate.
How do I search databases?
The most important feature you need to learn about a database is its search engine.
Usually, databases search engines behave the same way as Library Search: you enter keywords separated by spaces or logical operators.
Some databases assign metadata labels, also called headings, to the resources in their index. You can search these headings and combine multiple searches with logical operators. Using headings ensures you always get results and learn terminology in the process.
These search features are usually documented in the database's help section.
When looking at lists of databases in subject guides or in the A-Z page or in the library subject guides, look for the help links icons.
Databases icons key:
Help pages and user guide.
Open Access.
Podcast available.
App available.
Library dashboard post.