How access and search for resources
Printed books can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance.
To access the library website click the following link: www.bcu.ac.uk/library
You will need to click the 'Sign in' link at the top of the website and enter your BCU email and password, this will allow you to access the resources quicker after searching.
Using the search box enter the book title or keywords if you are looking for books on a specific subject. Then click on Search.
Click on 'Everything' at the end of the search bar to display more options.
Select 'Physical Resources'
This will display all the relevant results for your search, click on a specific book to see shelf mark and availability.
eBooks are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off-campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.
To access the library website click the following link: www.bcu.ac.uk/library
You will need to click the 'Sign in' link at the top of the website and enter your BCU email and password, this will allow you to access the resources quicker after searching.
Enter your keywords and then Click on 'Search'
Click on 'Everything' at the end of the search bar to display more options.
Click 'Online Resources' from the drop down list.
You can refine your search further by clicking the options on the left hand side of the screen.
Further Information on eBooks:
YouTube video guides: Ebook Central
Accessibility Guide: Ebook Central e-books
Quick Start guide to our Ebook Central collection: Ebook Central Quick Start Guide
BCU has a collection of printed journals and online journals, printed journals can only be access in the library and can't be loaned
To access the library website click the following link: www.bcu.ac.uk/library
You will need to click the 'Sign in' link at the top of the website and enter your BCU email and password, this will allow you to access the resources quicker after searching.
Enter your keywords then click on 'Search'
Use filters on the left to select 'Peer-Reviewed Journal' and 'Articles'
For more information on journal articles visit https://www.bcu.ac.uk/library/find-resources/journal-articles
A database is an electronic collection of specialist information that includes archived articles, research papers, the latest reports and relevant journals. They are a brilliant way to get a more comprehensive understanding of your chosen area of study as your course progresses.
To access the library website click the following link: www.bcu.ac.uk/library
You will need to click the 'Sign in' link at the top of the website and enter your BCU email and password, this will allow you to access the resources quicker after searching.
Scroll down and click on 'A - Z of Databases'
If you know the database you are looking for your can search by title
You can also browse databases by subject
For more information visit https://www.bcu.ac.uk/library/find-resources/databases
Our Inter-Library Loans service will help you to obtain information that is not available in print or online from our libraries. You can use it to request.
Visit bcu.ac.uk/library/find-resources/items-not-in-stock/inter-library-loans
Subject guides are curated by subject specialists from the Learning & Teaching and Collection Management librarians.
They include lists of key databases and important websites.
Click on the following link: Subject Guides
How to find books in library: A guide to the Dewey decimal system
