Media: Professional Organisations and Websites
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of media, including marketing, events, PR, journalism, television, radio, film and music
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Professional organisations and websites can be valuable sources of information for your subject.
There are some examples below but you will find others, some will include library subscriptions but many are freely available online.
Also, see our libraries and archives section for specialist collections related to your discipline.
Remember to evaluate information you find online!
Learn how to assess the credibility of sources in our online course: Navigating the Library (Moodle).
You should also explore books, academic journals and articles to support your research.
Learn how to assess the credibility of sources in our online course: Navigating the Library (Moodle).
You should also explore books, academic journals and articles to support your research.
Professional Organisations
- Chartered Institute of Public Relations Royal Chartered professional body for public relations practitioners, with nearly 10,000 members.
- OECD: The Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development The OECD provides a forum in which governments can work together to share experiences and seek solutions to common problems. We work with governments to understand what drives economic, social and environmental change. It measures productivity and global flows of trade and investment.
- YouGov YouGov is an international online research data and analytics technology group, a source of accurate data and insights.
Websites
- BBC Writersroom BBC Writersroom is a cross-genre department. the website has a wealth of online resources with a Writers' Lab, a Script Library, Industry Opportunities and Blog with news and features on the latest BBC programmes, help and advice.
- BFI Screenonline BFI's online guide to Britain's film and TV history covering 2,000 titles and 800 personalities offering video clips from the BFI National Archive's collections.
- The Guardian: Film Film news and commentary from The Guardian (UK newspaper).
Libraries and Archives
- Library of Birmingham Public library in Birmingham, England. It is situated on the west side of the city centre at Centenary Square. Opened 2013
- Library of Birmingham Archive and Collections An internationally significant collection of archives, photographs and rare books.
- Archives Hub Search across descriptions of archives, held at over 390 institutions across the UK, with JISC Archives Hub.
- Shakespeare Memorial Room The Shakespeare Memorial Room is a popular visitor destination at the Library of Birmingham.
Library of Birmingham. Source: BCU Assets