Media: Film, performance, sound

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of media, including marketing, events, PR, journalism, television, radio, film and music

Image Credit: BCU Assets

The Library also subscribes to collections of online resources for streaming media content, including TV, film, sound and performance.

Browse the resources below:

BBC Shakespeare Archive This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for TV and Radio programmes from the BBC's Shakespeare collections and productions.
BFI Player This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream short and feature films from the British Film Institute's free archive collections.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education.
Please see our How do I register for access to Box of Broadcasts (BoB)? FAQ for help with registration.
British Library Sounds This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Sound recordings from the British Library's archives on wide ranging topics including accents and dialects, the arts, the environment, history, music, radio and theatre.
Digital Theatre + This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch performances of plays, musicals, opera, dance and music many with additional images, interviews, cast lists and other supporting materials.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for texts, criticism, images and videos of drama, plays, playwrights, stage and theatre.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream over 20,000 films and documentaries to watch.
Please see our How do I sign in to Kanopy? FAQ for help with access.
ReelMusic This link opens in a new window
Browse or create playlists of bite-sized video clips developed for music teachers and professionals.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
An archive of rock and popular music journalism.
Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for practitioner overviews, commentary and videos for streaming on dance, performance and theatre. Only 1 concurrent user allowed at a time.
VADS This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for free arts, architecture, design, fashion and media images.

BFI Screenonline
BFI's online guide to Britain's film and TV history covering 2,000 titles and 800 personalities offering video clips from the BFI National Archive's collections.
JSTOR Images
Images on JSTOR are contributed by partnering institutions like universities, museums, and community and private collections including Artstor Digital Library.

DVDs, CDs and Vinyl LPs in Curzon Library

Curzon Library AV Room (C001)

The Library has a large collection of Compact Discs, SACDs (Super-Audio CDs), Long-Playing Vinyl Records (LPs), DVDs and and a growing collection of Blu-Ray videos. These are all in Room C001.

To search for these use the search box on the Library website and filter the results for compilation CDs, SACDs, LPs and DVDs as these will not easily be found by browsing the shelves.

Listening and watching Facilities

Room C001 contains CD and SACD (Super Audio CD) players and turntables (including a USB turntable for recording from Vinyl LP) for your listening and two Blu-Ray players for viewing DVDs and Blu-Ray discs.