Media: Key Resources
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of media, including marketing, events, PR, journalism, television, radio, film and music
Source: BCU Assets
See key resources for media listed below.
Alternatively, see our multidisciplinary databases for researchers:
Journalism students may also be interested in our fashion and sport subject guides:
Key Resources
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography. - Black Ballad This link opens in a new windowSearch or Browse Black Ballad's 500+ articles & videos created and edited by black women. Black Ballad is a UK based lifestyle platform that seeks to tell the human experience through eyes of black British women.
- BRAD This link opens in a new windowSearch for media advertising information contained in digital media, magazines, newspapers, radio and television.
- C19: The Nineteenth Century IndexCovering multiple content types including newspapers, as well as books, government documents and periodicals from the nineteenth century
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of technical information for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics. - Independent Radio This link opens in a new windowRadio recordings from between 1973 and 1996 from the archives of: Independent Radio Sharing Archive; LBC/Independent Radio News Archive and ILR South.
- International Index to Film Periodicals (FIAF) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations from academic and popular film and cinema journals.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects. - Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 2 million classical, folk and world music tracks to play. Please log out when finished using. Only 12 concurrent users allowed at a time. - Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search this online encyclopedia for information and images on music and musicians from sources including the New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians, the Oxford Dictionary of Music and the Oxford Companion to Music. - Purple Guide This link opens in a new windowBrowse the various chapters of the Purple Guide, Purple Guide Lite and Welfare Handbook for information on health, safety and welfare for organisers of entertainment and music events.
- Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse current and previous UK television and radio listings.
- Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Nexis for news, business and companies information including from UK and International local and regional newspapers - Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search for articles from UK and international newspapers
Databases icons key:
Help pages and user guide.
Open Access.
Podcast available.
App available.
Library dashboard post.