English: Professional Organisations and Websites
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of English, including English language, literature, creative writing and drama.
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Professional organisations and websites can be valuable sources of information for your subject.
There are some examples below but you will find others, some will include library subscriptions but many are freely available online.
Also, see our libraries and archives section for specialist collections related to your discipline.
Remember to evaluate information you find online!
Learn how to assess the credibility of sources in our online course: Navigating the Library (Moodle).
You should also explore books, academic journals and articles to support your research.
Learn how to assess the credibility of sources in our online course: Navigating the Library (Moodle).
You should also explore books, academic journals and articles to support your research.
Professional Organisations
- British Association for Applied Linguistics (BAAL)BAAL is a professional association based in the UK, which provides a forum for people interested in language and applied linguistics.
- International Cognitive Linguistics AssociationICLA connects cognitive linguists all over the world by sponsoring conferences, sponsoring a major journal and book series for relevant research, as well as other affiliated publication venues, keeping up a website and email discussion list, fostering regional affiliates, and generally providing a community for researchers in cognitive linguistics and others interested in such resea
- Linguistic Society of AmericaThe Linguistic Society of America (LSA) was founded in 1924 to advance the scientific study of language. LSA plays a critical role in supporting and disseminating linguistic scholarship both to professional linguists and to the general public
Websites
- BARTOC BAsel Register of Thesauri, Ontologies & ClassificationsThe Basel Register of Thesauri, Ontologies and Classifications (BARTOC) collects metadata of controlled and structured vocabularies and provides a search interface in 20 languages.
- The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS)The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors
Libraries and Archives
- Library of Birmingham Public library in Birmingham, England. It is situated on the west side of the city centre at Centenary Square. Opened 2013
- Library of Birmingham Archive and Collections An internationally significant collection of archives, photographs and rare books.
- Archives Hub Search across descriptions of archives, held at over 390 institutions across the UK, with JISC Archives Hub.
- Shakespeare Memorial Room The Shakespeare Memorial Room is a popular visitor destination at the Library of Birmingham.
Library of Birmingham. Source: BCU Assets