English: Key Resources

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of English, including English language, literature, creative writing and drama.

Key resources for English will provide access to:

Alternatively, see our multidisciplinary databases for researchers:

Research databases

Key databases: Primary Texts

Black Drama This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of full-text plays dating from the mid 1800s through to the present day by playwrights from Africa, the Caribbean, North America and other African diaspora countries.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse C19: The Nineteenth Century Index for abstracts and citations, including some with full-text, for information documenting nineteenth century history. C19: The Nineteenth Century Index comprises 18 indexes, available to cross-search or search individually, with over 25 million records from books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers, archive material and reference material.
Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for texts, criticism, images and videos of drama, plays, playwrights, stage and theatre.
Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 100,000 digitized copies of a early English works, including almanacs, bibles, literature, prayer books, proclamations and sermons all dating from between 1475 to 1700.
Gale Literature This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search across this collection of literature databases for information on authors and their works
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for literature and author information of English language poetry, prose and drama from the 8th Century to the present day.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks on Linguistics, Literature and Philosophy containing essays on the latest research, debate and thinking from subject experts.
Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 300 eBooks, including novels and other writings, from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.

Key databases: Criticism

BBC Shakespeare Archive This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for TV and Radio programmes from the BBC's Shakespeare collections and productions.
Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of over 470 e-books on literature topics including authors, their works and literature genres.
Cambridge Journals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Cambridge Journals Online includes access to over 300 full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects including acting, stage & theatre, art, education, health, law, literature, management, music and social sciences.
Literature Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for literature and author information of English language poetry, prose and drama from the 8th Century to the present day.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations on the literature, languages, linguistics and folklore.
Oxford Handbooks Linguistics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of eBooks on Linguistics containing essays on the latest research, debate and thinking from subject experts.
C19: The Nineteenth Century Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse C19: The Nineteenth Century Index for abstracts and citations, including some with full-text, for information documenting nineteenth century history. C19: The Nineteenth Century Index comprises 18 indexes, available to cross-search or search individually, with over 25 million records from books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers, archive material and reference material.

News and online news sources

Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Nexis for news, business and companies information including from UK and International local and regional newspapers
Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search for articles from UK and international newspapers

Dictionaries

Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for the meaning, history and pronunciation of past and present English speaking words.