Music (classical & jazz) & Music Technology: Music Research Resources
Here are some music-specific research resources.
General resources may be found in the Research Subject Guide.
- RISMRISM's database offers the most comprehensive documentation available for music manuscripts and printed music for the time between 1600 and 1800. It continues to grow through monthly updates and averages around 30,000 new records anually.
- RISM Online Catalogue of Musical SourcesThe International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
- ARTFL-FRANTEXT This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse for the full-text of more than 3,500 French language and literature texts dating from the 12th century to the 20th century.
- Recent Researches in Music Online This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse the seven series of recent researches including medieval, renaissance, baroque, classical, 19th & 20th centuries, American and oral traditions of music.
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature with Full-Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on classical, popular and traditional music from the early 19th century onwards.
Academic Databases
Academic Databases are online resources where you can search the articles of multiple Academic Journals all at once.
Below are links to Academic Databases which contain articles on Music topics:
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest databases of abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from more than 5000 publishers, with coverage including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities research.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Web of Science for abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from science, social sciences and arts & humanities subjects.
- Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for Open Access theses and dissertations.
- Library Hub DiscoverWelcome to Library Hub Discover, giving you access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.
Library Hub Discover currently contains 51,910,058 records created from 150,400,160 records contributed by 202 institutions. See About for more information and our Libraries list, for information about each contributor. - Proquest Dissertation ExpressThrough active partnerships with more than 700 universities, ProQuest disseminates and archives of more than 90,000 new graduate works each year. These are available to purchase as PDFs.
- WorldCatWorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.