Music (classical & jazz) & Music Technology: Academic Music Journals and Articles
This guide brings together key Library resources to help you find information relating to classical and jazz and music; including music technology.
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Academic journals are published much more frequently than books.
- they can respond to topical issues,
- publish the latest research and
- provide the most up-to date information.
Articles are generally shorter than books.
- articles can be more focussed
- cover narrower and more individual or specialised topics.
- can provide literature for a topic such as an essay or dissertation.
Academic Journals are peer-reviewed. This means that any articles published within them have been assessed for quality and accuracy by experts in the field.
Most articles in scholarly journals include a statement of methodology and a bibliography or list of references.
Academic Journals available from the Library
Academic Databases
Academic Databases are online resources where you can search the articles of multiple Academic Journals all at once.
Below are links to Academic Databases which contain articles on Music topics:
- EThOS This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for doctoral theses awarded by UK universities. Registration/login required to download full-text where available. - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Scopus is one of the largest databases of abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from more than 5000 publishers, with coverage including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities research. - Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Web of Science for abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from science, social sciences and arts & humanities subjects. - Open Dissertations This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for Open Access theses and dissertations.
- Library Hub DiscoverWelcome to Library Hub Discover, giving you access to details of materials held in many UK national, academic and specialist libraries.
Library Hub Discover currently contains 51,910,058 records created from 150,400,160 records contributed by 202 institutions. See About for more information and our Libraries list, for information about each contributor. - Proquest Dissertation ExpressThrough active partnerships with more than 700 universities, ProQuest disseminates and archives of more than 90,000 new graduate works each year. These are available to purchase as PDFs.
- RISMRISM's database offers the most comprehensive documentation available for music manuscripts and printed music for the time between 1600 and 1800. It continues to grow through monthly updates and averages around 30,000 new records anually.
- RISM Online Catalogue of Musical SourcesThe International Inventory of Musical Sources - Répertoire International des Sources Musicales (RISM) - is an international, non-profit organization which aims for comprehensive documentation of extant musical sources worldwide. These primary sources are manuscripts or printed music, writings on music theory, and libretti. They are housed in libraries, archives, monasteries, schools and private collections.
- WorldCatWorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information.