Built Environment: Professional organisations
This page includes links to the following professional bodies who have accredited your course:
Architectural Technology
The degree programme is accredited by Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT) and the Chartered Institute Of Building (CIOB). This means when you have completed the degree you can register to become a Chartered Architectural Technologist.
- Chartered Institute of Architectural Technologists (CIAT)The CIAT is a dynamic, forward-thinking and inclusive global membership qualifying body for Architectural Technology. Architectural Technology forms the link between concept, innovation and realisation of a building or structure. At its heart are the technology, buildability, functionality and performance of the design, taking into consideration materials, innovative processes, production techniques and sustainability.
- Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)The world's largest and most influential professional body for construction management and leadership. CIOB has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Covers the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment.
Building Surveying
The degree is fundamentally based upon the core competencies outlined by its accrediting partners, RICS and CIOB, which gives you a good foundation for your future career. The degree has a focus on the core technical knowledge, such as building pathology, construction technology and sustainability, as well as the legal framework knowledge required for a career in building surveying.
- Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)The world's largest and most influential professional body for construction management and leadership. CIOB has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Covers the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment.
- Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)The professional body that accredits professionals within the land, property and construction sectors worldwide, RICS regulates and promotes the profession; maintains the highest educational and professional standards; protects clients and consumers via a strict code of ethics; and provides impartial advice and guidance.
Civil Engineering
This degree is accredited by the Joint Board of Moderators (JBM) comprising the Institution of Civil Engineers, Institution of Structural Engineers, Institute of Highway Engineers, the Chartered Institution of Highways and Transportation and the Permanent Way Institution on behalf of the Engineering Council.
- Institution of Civil Engineers (ICE)As a professional institution for over 200 years, with 95,000 members worldwide, the ICE exists to improve lives by ensuring the world has the engineering capacity and infrastructure systems it needs to enable our planet and our people to thrive.
- Institution of Structural EngineersThe IStructE leads and supports the development of structural engineering worldwide through its engineers who design the strength and stability of our buildings and bridges.
- Institute of Highway EngineersThe IHE has been registering engineers and technicians with the Engineering Council since 1972 and accrediting academic courses since 1989. It provides professional development opportunities and provides support and leadership for individuals to achieve and maintain professional recognition.
- Chartered Institution of Highways & Transportation (CIHT)CIHT represents and qualifies professionals who plan, design, build, manage, maintain and operate highways, transport infrastructure and services. CIHT is the leading voice of the highways, transportation, infrastructure and services profession. We are the prime source of advice for national and local government and other strategic stakeholders when they are seeking technical expertise and knowledge to guide future policy and investment.
- Permanent Way InstitutionFor over 130 years, the PWI has been working with professionals, organisations, and government bodies to improve and grow the rail industry. Originally a supervisory group, the PWI quickly expanded to become a technical body for infrastructure engineers, supervisors, operatives and managers.
Construction Management
The complexity of construction projects requires construction professionals who have expertise in construction management and can work effectively with people from different cultural backgrounds and construction disciplines. The degree is accredited by the CIOB, RICS and CABE Academic Partners.
- Chartered Association of Building Engineers (CABE)The Chartered Association of Building Engineers (CABE) is a leading body for professionals specialising in the design, construction, evaluation and maintenance of buildings.
- Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)The world's largest and most influential professional body for construction management and leadership. CIOB has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Covers the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment.
- Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)The professional body that accredits professionals within the land, property and construction sectors worldwide, RICS regulates and promotes the profession; maintains the highest educational and professional standards; protects clients and consumers via a strict code of ethics; and provides impartial advice and guidance.
Planning Built Environments
The Masters programme is accredited by the Royal Town Planning Institute (RTPI).
- Royal Town Planning InstituteThe UK's leading planning body for spatial, sustainable and inclusive planning and the largest planning institute in Europe.
Quantity Surveying
Both the degree and the Masters programme give you experience in cost management, procurement and quantification skills as well as developing expertise in risk management, costing techniques, design economics, buildability, procurement and the ability to add value. Both courses are accredited by the CIOB, RICS and CABE Academic Partners.
- Chartered Association of Building Engineers (CABE)The Chartered Association of Building Engineers (CABE) is a leading body for professionals specialising in the design, construction, evaluation and maintenance of buildings.
- Chartered Institute of Building (CIOB)The world's largest and most influential professional body for construction management and leadership. CIOB has a Royal Charter to promote the science and practice of building and construction for the benefit of society. Covers the development, conservation and improvement of the built environment.
- Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)The professional body that accredits professionals within the land, property and construction sectors worldwide, RICS regulates and promotes the profession; maintains the highest educational and professional standards; protects clients and consumers via a strict code of ethics; and provides impartial advice and guidance.
Real Estate
Both the degree and the Masters programme have been developed in accordance with the requirements of the Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS).
- Royal Institution of Chartered Surveyors (RICS)The professional body that accredits professionals within the land, property and construction sectors worldwide, RICS regulates and promotes the profession; maintains the highest educational and professional standards; protects clients and consumers via a strict code of ethics; and provides impartial advice and guidance.