Built Environment: Key databases

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Built Environment, Fire and Civil Engineering courses

Specialist databases give you access to articles, technical reports, professional guidance and information to support your studies. Here are some of the key databases that are relevant for the Architectural Technology, Building Surveying, Civil Engineering, Construction, Fire Engineering, Planning, Quantity Surveying and Real Estate courses.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for information from engineering handbooks and textbooks. Also includes videos and the data visualisation tool, DataVis.
Architects' Journal Buildings Library This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the AJ Buildings Library free collections of photographs and drawings of architectural projects.
BCIS Online This link opens in a new window
Search for information on the cost of building and construction projects. Please log out when finished using.
British Standards Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text access to British Standards and other international standards.
Please see our How do I download British Standards Online documents? FAQ for further help.
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislation, standards, guidelines and regulations for architects and the building and construction industry. Click on the menu item for the Construction Information Service - CIS to access.
DCP Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An online reference tool to guide and support decision making on planning applications, appeals and processes.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for drawings, images, plans and technical information relevant to the study of architecture, building construction and structural engineering.
Digimap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Twelve collections providing maps and map data of Great Britain. Data is available to download, for use with appropriate software such as geographical information systems (GIS) or computer-aided design (CAD), to print or to view online.
Please see our How do I register for access to Digimap? FAQ for help with registration.
Estates Gazette Radius This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
News, analysis, videos and podcasts on industrial, leisure, office, residential and retail real estate and property
RICS isurv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for cases, checklists, guidance, standards and templates from the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors.
Specify-It This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Product and supplier catalogues for the building and construction industry. View more for access instructions. Click on the menu item for Knowledge Workspace for access.
Sustainable Development Goals Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 12,000 sources, including book chapters, journal articles, videos and case studies, centred around each of the seventeen goals United Nations sustainable development goals.
UWE Construction Website This link opens in a new window
Browse for information, including images and videos, on building construction and history from contractors, manufacturers, surveyors and trade organisations.