Built Environment: New books
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Built Environment and Civil Engineering courses
Your librarian updates this list periodically.
Placemaking by
Placemaking: People, Properties, Planning, delivers a cross-disciplinary critique of "placemaking", an approach to the design and creation of new urban places, and the reshaping of old ones, that has become so pervasive that it forms the 'strapline' for the UK's Royal Town Planning Institute. Developing principally from planning and urban design, placemaking has swiftly become a new orthodoxy, a dominant paradigm. It seems to be all-encompassing, particularly at a time when towns and cities face new and large-scale challenges relating to climate change, sustainability, population movement and intensive capital regeneration. Higgins and Larkham alongside an expert team of contributors examine the experiences of placemaking, the underlying principles and motivations of placemaking, the importance of context, the quality of the places produced, and the experiences of those living and working in them. Placemaking: People, Properties, Planning contains a series of short, sharp chapters exploring a broad range of placemaking concepts and experiences. It is designed to be critical, but easily comprehensible to both university-level students in built environment academic disciplines and to practitioners in related professions.
ISBN: 9781837531301Publication Date: 2024-11-06
Professional Ethics in Construction and Surveying by
This textbook responds to the increasing demand for practical, industry aligned, ethical practices in quantity surveying, construction management and related AEC professions. Professional Ethics for Construction and Surveying addresses how existing ethical standards can be pragmatically applied to both private and contracting practice, with case studies aligned with the ethical requirements of the main professional bodies. After an introduction to ethics, the authors present real-world situations where the minimum legal and contractual requirements necessitate the combination of professional judgement and ethical decision-making. They outline how such situations arise, then address how decisions can and should be made that are in keeping with the moral, contractual and CSR requirements, with cases covering the building lifecycle from procurement to handover. Consequently, the book brings together ethical theory, existing worldwide ethical standards and the requirements of the RICS, the CIOB and the ICES, with the authors' experiences of examining candidates for entry into the professional bodies. The result is a professionally focused textbook aimed at vocational learners (at both undergraduate and postgraduate taught levels) and practitioners in construction, engineering, architecture and the wider built environment.
ISBN: 9781000379280Publication Date: 2021-04-26
Rating Valuation by
The number 1, established guide to rating valuation Suitable for both professionals and upper level students Particularly suitable for students studying for their APC Up to date with the changes for the 2023 Rating Revaluation
ISBN: 9781032278285Publication Date: 2023-12-22
The Routledge Handbook of Urban Design Research Methods by
As an evolving and contested field, urban design has been made, unmade, and remade at the intersections of multiple disciplines and professions. It is now a decisive moment for urban design to reflect on its rigour and relevance. This handbook is an attempt to seize this moment for urban design to further develop its theoretical and methodological knowledge base and engage with the question of "what urban design can be" with a primary focus on its research. This handbook includes contributions from both established and emerging scholars across the global North and global South to provide a more field-specific entry point by introducing a range of topics and lines of inquiry and discussing how they can be explored with a focus on the related research designs and methods. The specific aim, scope, and structure of this handbook are appealing to a range of audiences interested and/or involved in shaping places and public spaces. What makes this book quite distinctive from conventional handbooks on research methods is the way it has been structured in relation to some key research topics and questions in the field of urban design regarding the issues of agency, affordance, place, informality, and performance. In addition to the introduction chapter, this handbook includes 80 contributors and 52 chapters organised into five parts. The commissioned chapters showcase a wide range of topics, research designs, and methods with references to relevant scholarly works on the related topics and methods.
ISBN: 9781000917628Publication Date: 2023
Spon's Civil Engineering and Highway Works Price Book 2025 by ISBN: 9781003504726Publication Date: 2025
Steels by
Steels: Structure, Properties and Design is an essential text and reference, providing indispensable foundational content for researchers, metallurgists, and engineers in industry and academia. The book provides inspiring content for undergraduates, yet has a depth that makes it useful to researchers. Steels represent the most used metallic materials, possessing a wide range of structures and properties. By examining the properties of steels in conjunction with structure, the book provides a valuable description of the development and behavior of these materials- the very foundation of their widespread use. The new edition has been thoroughly revised and updated with 2 new chapters, expanded content throughout,and yet it retains its clear writing style, extensive bibliographies, and real-life examples. One of the new chapters deals with the additive manufacture of steels with a focus on structure and properties. The other has visionary applications of steel that lead to a dramatic reduction of the carbon dioxide burden, within a short period of time, and without compromising the quality of life that depends on steels.
ISBN: 9780443184918Publication Date: 2024-01-12
Structural Health Monitoring Based on Data Science Techniques by
The modern structural health monitoring (SHM) paradigm of transforming in situ, real-time data acquisition into actionable decisions regarding structural performance, health state, maintenance, or life cycle assessment has been accelerated by the rapid growth of "big data" availability and advanced data science. Such data availability coupled with a wide variety of machine learning and data analytics techniques have led to rapid advancement of how SHM is executed, enabling increased transformation from research to practice. This book intends to present a representative collection of such data science advancements used for SHM applications, providing an important contribution for civil engineers, researchers, and practitioners around the world.
ISBN: 9783030817152Publication Date: 2021-10-24
Sustainable Real Estate in the Developing World by
Many years have elapsed since the start of sustainability revolution, yet there is still a lack of diverse collections offering in-depth analysis of sustainability principles applied to real estate in the developing world. Sustainable Real Estate in the Developing Worldoffers a perfect and ideal synthesis of works that examine sustainability within various facets of real estate and urban development in the developing world. Harnessing multi- and inter-disciplinary perspectives, this book discusses the fundamental issues of the complex nexus between the built environment and sustainable development, thereby illuminating how they are affecting and will potentially affect each other. The book highlights rich and practical experiences, challenges, and best practices of over ten countries in four continents, with contributors proffering solutions around topics such as the following: sustainable development goals and the urban agenda; housing development in the context of environmental sustainability; demand for sustainable features in commercial real estate; urban development, land use changes, and environmental impacts in cities; urbanization, environmental externalities, and house prices; building information modelling adaptability for sustainable residential real estate development; and COVID-19 and sustainable development. This collection is useful to academics, researchers, and students in all the built environment disciplines, as well as to policy makers, practitioners, professional bodies and the international donor community.
ISBN: 1838678379Publication Date: 2021-03-29
Untangling Smart Cities by
Untangling Smart Cities: From Utopian Dreams to Innovation Systems for a Technology-Enabled Urban Sustainability helps all key stakeholders understand the complex and often conflicting nature of smart city research, offering valuable insights for designing and implementing strategies to improve the smart city decision-making processes. The book drives the reader to a better theoretical and practical comprehension of smart city development, beginning with a thorough and systematic analysis of the research literature published to date. It addition, it provides an in-depth understanding of the entire smart city knowledge domain, revealing a deeply rooted division in its cognitive-epistemological structure as identified by bibliometric insights. Users will find a book that fills the knowledge gap between theory and practice using case study research and empirical evidence drawn from cities considered leaders in innovative smart city practices. Provides clarity on smart city concepts and strategies Presents a systematic literature analysis on the state-of-the-art of smart cities' research using bibliometrics combined with practical applications Offers a comprehensive and systematic analysis of smart cities research produced during its first three decades Generates a strong connection between theory and practice by providing the scientific knowledge necessary to approach the complex nature of smart cities Documents five main development pathways for smart cities development, serving the needs of city managers and policymakers with concrete advice and guidance
ISBN: 9780128154786Publication Date: 2019-06-27
Urban Planning for Transitions by
Today, as cities undergo rapid and dynamic transformations, riddled with uncertainties about the future, the roles of urban planning and urban planners lie in one of these new crossroad moments. Climate change, urban migration, social inclusion, health emergencies and financial and economic crises have elevated urbanization to newer heights of complexity that can only be tackled by integrating a multitude of scenarios, strategies and discourses, in order to create an urban future that is resilient and sustainable. Urban planners have come up with transition proposals and concepts that they hope will be able to respond to cities� challenges and ultimately allow them to adapt and make the transition into more robust urban areas. This book presents and discusses various urban transition strategies, action plans and programs that have been proposed or even conducted in different countries all over the world. Different countries require different strategies, but they all have the same goal in mind, each of them trying to address urban complexities and cope with the rapid pace at which the world is evolving.
ISBN: 9781119821656Publication Date: 2021-03-24
