Built Environment: Key journals

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Built Environment and Civil Engineering courses

Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly publications. News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals.

A journal can be useful:

to find up-to-date information
to find out what has been researched on your topic
to find information that points to other relevant research

Library Search

You can search by article title, journal title or keyword in Library Search. Print-only journals are available in your campus library.

Use these Library Search links to access key journals in your subject areas:

Architectural Technology

Building and Quantity Surveying

Journal collections

Additionally, you may find these multi-discipline journal collections useful.

ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.
Springer Compact This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of health, humanities, medical, social sciences, science and technology subjects. Please note that access to all journals is not included.
Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Taylor & Francis Online includes access to over 1,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects from the social sciences & humanities and science & technology disciplines.
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Wiley Online Library includes access to over 1,500 full-text journals covering a wide range of subjects including architecture, art, business, computing, criminology, education, health sciences, law, literature, nursing, psychology and sociology.