Acting, Stage & Theatre: Playscripts
The page contains the different ways you can access playscripts available from BCU Libraries, including:
BSA Resources Room
Playscripts are kept in the Resources Room in the School of Acting (Ruskin Hall) and may not be taken out of the building.
The Library purchases a reference copy of every new play published by major publishers of playscripts and plays, not already in stock, being performed in the West End.
Acting Resources Room in Ruskin Hall
Playscripts in the Curzon Library
There are also playscripts available to borrow (and take home) from BCU's Curzon Library, these can be found on the ground floor.
Plays in Curzon Library are organised of the shelves by subject area rather than author alphabetically.
The different subjects are all represented by a numerical code we call a shelf mark. This is a 3 digit number followed by some decimal numbers.
The more decimal numbers after the main 3 digit number, the more specific the subject area.
All books and plays are shelved in numerical order according to these shelf marks.
See the guide bellow for browsing plays by subject:
Curzon Library Shelf Guide
Playscripts
- American drama 812
- American drama: 1867-1899 812.4
- American drama: 1900-1945 812.52
- American drama: 1945-1999 812.54
- American drama: 2000- 812.6
- Classical Greek drama 882
- English drama 822
- English drama: 1066-1400 822.1
- English drama: 1400-1558 822.2
- English drama: 1558-1625 822.3
- English drama: 1625-1702 822.4
- English drama: 1702-1745 822.5
- English drama: 1745-1799 822.6
- English drama: 1800-1837 822.7
- English drama: 1837-1899 822.8
- English drama: 1900-1945 822.92
- French drama 842
- German drama 832
- Italian drama 852
- Latin drama 872
- Spanish and Portuguese drama 862
e-book copies of playscripts
You can also find and access e-book versions of playscripts via the Library Search.
We also have online collections of plays available via the online collections below:
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of full-text plays dating from the mid 1800s through to the present day by playwrights from Africa, the Caribbean, North America and other African diaspora countries. - Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of over 300 eBooks on literature topics including authors, their works and literature genres. - Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for texts, criticism, images and videos of drama, plays, playwrights, stage and theatre. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 100,000 digitized copies of a early English works, including almanacs, bibles, literature, prayer books, proclamations and sermons all dating from between 1475 to 1700. - Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 300 eBooks, including novels and other writings, from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for more than 150,000 documents including bibles, books, sermons and sheet music all dating from between 1700 to 1799. Includes information on topics including art, history, law, literature and religion in English, Ancient Greek, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh.
