Acting, Stage & Theatre: Acting, Stage and Theatre Books
The page contains the different ways you can access Acting, Stage and Theatre books available from BCU Libraries, including:
Physical Books
Print books on acting, stage and theatre are found on the first floor of Curzon Library.
You can find out what print books the Library has and whether they are available before you arrive via the Library Search.
Books are organised on the shelves by subject.
The different subjects are all represented by a numerical code we call a shelf mark. This is a 3 digit number followed by some decimal numbers.
The more decimal numbers after the main 3 digit number, the more specific the subject area.
All books and plays are shelved in numerical order according to these shelf marks.
See the guide bellow for browsing plays by subject:
Shelf Guide
Technical Theatre
- Costume 792.026
- Health and safety in entertainment Settings 363.147
- Settings (incl. lighting/props/scenery) 792.025
- Stage management 792.02
- Stage presentations 792
- Stage productions 792.9
Applied Theatre
- Applied Theatre 792.022
- Community Theatre 792.0222
Acting & Performing
- Acting 792.028
- Choreography 782.82
- Dance 792.8
- Improvisation/performance 792.028
- Singing: performance (single voice) 783.04
- Speaking: performance 808.5
- Voice 808.5
- Voice: physiology 612.78
Culture & Background
- Cultural studies 306
- Literature in other languages 890
- Theatre 792
- Theatre History 792.09
- Tragedy and serious drama 792.1
BCU Library organises books and other items by topic using the Dewey Decimal Classification System (DDCS). Books are assigned a subject number which tells you where the book is located on the shelves.
e-books and e-book collections
You can also find and access e-books about acting, stage and theatre via the Library Search.
We also have collections of e-books available via the online collections below:
- Black Drama This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of full-text plays dating from the mid 1800s through to the present day by playwrights from Africa, the Caribbean, North America and other African diaspora countries. - Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this collection of over 300 eBooks on literature topics including authors, their works and literature genres. - Drama Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for texts, criticism, images and videos of drama, plays, playwrights, stage and theatre. - Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse more than 100,000 digitized copies of a early English works, including almanacs, bibles, literature, prayer books, proclamations and sermons all dating from between 1475 to 1700. - Eighteenth Century Collections Online (I and II) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for more than 150,000 documents including bibles, books, sermons and sheet music all dating from between 1700 to 1799. Includes information on topics including art, history, law, literature and religion in English, Ancient Greek, Dutch, French, German, Italian, Latin, Spanish and Welsh. - Oxford World's Classics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A collection of over 300 eBooks, including novels and other writings, from the 18th, 19th and 20th centuries.
