University Archive and Special Collections: The Conservatoire and Music Collections
Display of items connected to composer Samuel Coleridge-Taylor: scrapbook of composer/performer portrait postcards alongside scores.
Smaller discrete collections within the Conservatoire and Music Collections include:
- The Royal Birmingham Conservatoire Association papers
- Birmingham Composers Manuscript Collection
- The Birmingham Flute Society Collection
- Birmingham Composers Manuscript Collection
- The Birmingham Triennial Music Festival programmes
- The Autograph Collection
Birmingham Flute Society Collection
The Birmingham Flute Society was founded in 1856 as the Birmingham Flute Trio and Quartet Society.
History
After the Society was disbanded in 1954 the collection was passed to the then Birmingham School of Music By John Slade in 1965 when the Birmingham Midland Institute Building in Paradise Street was closed and demolished.
A more detailed history by Roz Trübger may be found in:
Trübger, Roz (2013) : A historic predecessor to the BFS: The Birmingham Flute Society and its music. Pan: The journal of the British Flute Society, 32(2) 38-41.
Collection catalogue records
There is a print copy of the Birmingham Flute Society Catalogue of concerted music 1894 in the University Archive and Special Collections Centre.
A PDF scan of that catalogue is available Image of Birmingham Flute Society catalogue with link to Library catalogue.
You can also find a PDF of Birmingham Flute Society Catalogue of concerted music 1894.
Birmingham Composers Manuscript Collection
There is a catalogue by Michael Jones of this collection (PDF).
There is also a list of the Herbert Lumby manuscripts.
Sir Granville Bantock manuscripts and related material can be discovered using the BCU Library Search tool.