University Archive and Special Collections: Welcome

a student consulting an old botanical book

Image Credit: BCU Assets

Welcome to the University Archive and Special Collections Centre at Birmingham City University.
Discover more about our University Archive and Special Collections and contact us to request a viewing.

University Archive

The University Archive documents the history of the University, including the early Schools and College on which the institution was founded.

Special Collections

Special Collections is comprised of exceptional items such as rare books, music manuscripts, photographs, plans and correspondence between celebrated literary and artistic figures. 
Special Collections provides access to rare and unique primary sources in support of learning, teaching and research.

Access to the collections: request a viewing

To request a viewing of an item or items held within collections at the University Archive & Special Collection Centre, please contact us using the following email address: SpecialCollections@bcu.ac.uk

In your email, please provide details of any specific items you wish to view. If you do not have specific item details, please provide an outline of your topic of interest/field of research.

Once you have sent your email, please be alert for our emailed response. It may be advisable to check in your junk mail folder in case our email is directed there.

Viewings should be requested in advance. Two weeks notice is required. Times a dates are offered during standard office hours. Please wait for confirmation of your appointment before travel.