Teacher Training: Subject databases

This guide contains all the resources and services available from the library to support Teacher Training courses within the College of Education and Social Work.

The following databases will enable you to discover academic papers and research within the field of education. Often by searching within a subject-specific database your results will be more focused and relevant.

Usually you can conduct either a basic or advance search - an advanced search enables you to combine key words more effectively and to search within specific fields, such as author.

Sometimes you may find a journal article which is not available to BCU online, but you can always consider requesting it through an Inter-Library Loan request.

Education Databases

British Education Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles covering education topics from preschool years to higher education.
ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of dissertations, journal articles and research reports from current educational literature and research topics.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects.
Includes access to the following archive journal collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV; Business IV; Hebrew Journals; Ireland; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health Journals; Security Studies; and Sustainability, and the following primary source collections: 19th Century British Pamphlets; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; and Global Plants.
Research into Higher Education Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations of journal articles on research in higher education.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles for teachers and educators on topics including curriculum development, literacy, pedagogical research and instructional media.
Times Educational Supplement This link opens in a new window
Information and news for trainee, newly qualified or experienced teachers in primary, secondary and further education settings. Register for limited access to resources made freely available.