Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Bringing the Library to You: How to Event

How to make the most of millions of library resources, 24/7, wherever you are!

How to Event ...

Upcoming Event in July: How to event - Using Your Library

The Library How to event for July is "Using Your Library". 

Come to find out more by joining us on any of the following dates between 11 am -12 pm: 

  • Monday 11 July  (in person at Curzon library)
  • Tuesday 12 July (online)
  • Wednesday 13 July (online)
  • Thursday 14 July (in person at Mary Seacole library)
  • Friday 15 July (online)                           

There is no need to book, just drop in. If you have a library question we would love to hear from you, or even if you just want to drop in for a quick chat it would be nice to meet you.

We are still open

Library and Learning Resources has four libraries: Curzon, Mary Seacole, School of Art and School of Jewellery.

Libraries will remain open during Summer Vacation although hours may vary.  Click the following links to find more detail of each library and their opening hours. 

Curzon Library small                           Mary Seacole Library small

       Curzon Library                                   Mary Seacole Library

Margaret Street Library small                           Vittoria Street Library small

     School of Art Library                           School of Jewellery Library

24/7 virtual support

Chat with one of our librarians during staffed hours, or one of our partner librarians from around the world outside of staffed hours. The service is available 24/7!

         Chat to Us

Keep up to date with library news

Twitter: @BCUlibrary

Instagram: @BCUlibrary

Library news: Latest news

Library Dashboard: Systems status dashboard

Things you wished you had known at the beginning of the year

What’s something you know now that you wish you had known at start of this academic year? Please tell us here

    

Library Online Resources

Library resources are accessible when you are away on vacation. From e-Books to e-journals, databases and e-archives, we have a huge amount of electronic resources for you to explore and make good use of. Browse millions of full text items online - journals, ebooks, and much more:

Books

We have over 450,000 print books and an ever expanding collection of electronic books for you to use.

Journal Articles

As well as books you can also access a huge variety of journals to support your assignments. They are available in both print and electronic form.

Databases

BCU has a large collection of databases on everything from Accountancy to Visual Communications to support your research.

Digital Library

Access tutor-selected material such as past exam papers and student projects as well as BCU Archive records.

Reading Lists

Your reading list is an indispensable tool that brings together everything you should read for your module

Subject Guides

These guides have been put together by subject specialists and library staff to help you find resources related to your chosen subject at BCU in one convenient location.

Get in Touch

We'd love to hear from you, whether you've got a question about the information on this page or want to get in touch about something else. You can get in touch with us about anything via chat, email or text. We can help with your library account, finding books, journals and information for your assignments, referencing, troubleshooting, and much more!

Chat, email or text us your question

Use other university libraries - SCONUL scheme

If you would like to use a university library that's closer to home, apply to become a member of the SCONUL Access scheme. There are different types of membership depending on your mode of study. To apply your Birmingham City University library account must be clear of overdue items and outstanding charges.

Apply for SCONUL Access membership

Any more questions ?

We hope we have everything here to help you to get help. We are constantly seeking help to improve our service, if you have any ideas or suggestions, please leave us your feedback relating to our 'How to' events.

What are How to Events?

How to Events are organised by Library and Learning Resources staff.  These events run for a week each month during term time on a range of topics that will help you to use both the library services and resources effectively. The topics range from getting started using the library, to using ebooks and preparing for exams.  Suggestions for future events are always welcome you can leave your thoughts here: Add a suggestion 

Accessibility Statement