Bringing the Library to You: Electronic Resources
The BCU Library has subscriptions with publishers and databases so you can access electronic resources without paying extra fees. Your lecturers and librarians published a selection of e-books, journals and databases in the Subject Guides.
Remember to sign in and filter electronic resources is the Library Search.
Learn how to identify Full-text and online versions links.
Subject Guides
If you haven't already, find the subject guide for your course. You will find a selection of resources prepared by your lecturers, reading lists and advice from your librarians about finding resources for your research.
Library Search
The Library Search is the starting point to access e-Books, academic journals and specialist databases.
When browsing the Library website, make sure to sign in so you are presented with complete results and links to full-text online when available.
Filter online resources
An easy way to display only resources you can access online is to select the Online Resources filter near the Library Search box.
You may not be able to sign into Library Search, however you will still be able to access electronic resources via alternative routes if you have been issued with a university email address and password.
If you have arrived on campus and are awaiting full enrolment, we will create a temporary library account for you to allow borrowing. Please visit the library Help Desk during staffed hours. Physical borrowing is only available in person, so if you're still waiting to arrive on campus then we recommend using electronic resources.
Full text or not?
If an item has the message "Available Online", you should be able to view the full text.
Click the link to see where you can access the article. Usually, there will be one or more links to databases where the article is held.
If the article has the message "No online access" it means we do not have access to the full text via our subscriptions. That doesn't mean you cannot get hold of the article. You could try putting the title into Google Scholar, or use a Chrome extension such as Unpaywall to help locate open access versions.
Clicking the "No online access" link will usually prompt you to use the Inter library Loans service to request a copy. You can click the link in the "how to get it" section to complete the request form. Articles are usually delivered direct to your university email address, sometimes within a few days.
