Sound Engineering, Visual Effects and Film Technology: Key databases

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Visual Effects, Digital Film Production, Music Technology, Sound Engineering and Production courses.

Specialist databases give you access to articles, technical reports, professional guidance and information to support your studies. Here are some of the key databases that are relevant for Visual Effects, Digital Film Production, Music Technology, Sound Engineering and Production courses.

Access Engineering This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for information from engineering handbooks and textbooks. Also includes videos and the data visualisation tool, DataVis.
Acoustical Society of America Publications This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the Journal of the Acoustical Society of America for full-text theoretical and experimental research journal articles on acoustics and sound.
Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography.
Audio Engineering Society E-Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to convention preprints, conference papers and journal articles published by the Audio Engineering Society. Currently available on campus only.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education.
Please see our How do I register for access to Box of Broadcasts (BoB)? FAQ for help with registration.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
An archive of rock and popular music journalism.
SMPTE Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the SMPTE Digital Library for current and archive access to the journal and standards of the Society of Motion Picture and Television Engineers.

Additional databases

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text content from the Association for Computing Machinery publications including journals, conference proceedings, magazines and newsletters.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of technical information for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream over 20,000 films and documentaries to watch.
Please see our How do I sign in to Kanopy? FAQ for help with access.
Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series of books and conference proceedings for research and development information on computer science and information technology.
Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Nexis for news, business and companies information including from UK and International local and regional newspapers
ProQuest One Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations, including many with full-text, of academic and trade journal articles, books, dissertations, newspapers, market research reports and videos on business, leadership and management topics.