Life Sciences: Key Databases

This guide contains resources, help and support from the library for Biomedical Science and Biomedical Engineering

The databases below are core for your subject area

Please note: Library databases are best viewed using Chrome, Safari or Firefox.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search MEDLINE for abstracts & citations for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search PubMed for abstracts & citations some with full-text links for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
AMED This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles on alternative treatment topics including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
Biomedical & Life Sciences Lectures This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Database of video lectures on biomedical, clinical and life sciences topics.
Springer Compact This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of health, humanities, medical, social sciences, science and technology subjects. Please note that access to all journals is not included.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.

Learn more about ScienceDirect with the health databases video guides.

Human Genome Project This link opens in a new window
The Human Genome Project provides access to databases containing the complete set of human genes and the DNA base sequences.
Human Protein Atlas This link opens in a new window
The Human Protein Atlas portal is a publicly available database with millions of high-resolution images showing the spatial distribution of proteins in 44 different normal human tissues and 20 different cancer types, as well as 46 different human cell lines
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.