Engineering: New books
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Automotive, Electronic and Mechanical Engineering courses.
Your collection management librarian updates this list periodically.
Advanced Automotive Engine Performance by
Advanced Automotive Engine Performance is designed to prepare novice technicians for the challenge of diagnosing today's highly technical electronic engine controls. Using this curriculum, learners will gain familiarity with the operation and variations of emissions systems and associated onboard monitors. The curriculum especially focuses on applying diagnostic strategy to and performing service procedures for emissions systems faults. Learners will also develop an understanding of IM testing and an ability to interpret IM test reports to aid in diagnosis. This objective-based curriculum will prepare learners for the challenges of servicing engine management systems in the shop today.This is a complete curriculum solution for Advanced Automotive Engine Performance. Online courseware is available and is rich in video and animation to support understanding of complex systems. This solution is available in print-plus-digital, or digital-only offerings, providing eBook and online course pairing with mobile-friendly adaptability. Complete tests, tasksheets, and instructor resources make this curriculum easy to adopt and integrate into any automotive program.
ISBN: 9781284145229Publication Date: 2020-05-01
AI-Driven Intelligent Models for Business Excellence by
As digital technology continues to revolutionize the world, businesses are also evolving by adopting digital technologies such as artificial intelligence, digital marketing, and analytical methods into their daily practices. Due to this growing adoption, further study on the potential solutions modern technology provides to businesses is required to successfully apply it across industries. AI-Driven Intelligent Models for Business Excellence explores various artificial intelligence models and methods for business applications and considers algorithmic approaches for business excellence across numerous fields and applications. Covering topics such as business analysis, deep learning, machine learning, and analytical methods, this reference work is ideal for managers, business owners, computer scientists, industry professionals, researchers, scholars, practitioners, academicians, instructors, and students.
ISBN: 9781668442487Publication Date: 2022-08-12
Energy Storage Technologies and Applications by
This book provides a broad look at all different energy storage technologies, from the past and into the future. It takes a hard look at the advantages and disadvantages of various technologies, but also the different applications of energy storage to determine the attributes that are most important for the technology one would choose for them. The book guides you through the hidden costs and true advantages of today's energy storage technologies, and helps you understand energy storage technologies' specifications and claims to uncover which are important to their applications. You will see how an energy storage technology's attributes affect the total system's performance and value and be equipped to evaluate the true costs of energy storage, with respect to up-front capital costs, ongoing operating costs, and total carbon footprint. You will also find helpful lessons learned from industry experts as they strove to pave new roads in the development of energy storage technologies and their markets. This is an excellent resource for project developers and anyone who needs a broad understanding of what matters in energy storage.
ISBN: 9781630819095
Engineering Design Methods by
A revised text that presents specific design methods within an overall strategy from concept to detail design The fifth edition of Engineering Design Methods is an improved and updated version of this very successful, classic text on engineering product design. It provides an overview of design activities and processes, detailed descriptions and examples of how to use key design methods, and outlines design project strategies and management techniques. Written by a noted expert on the topic, the new edition contains an enriched variety of examples and case studies, and up to date material on design thinking and the development of design expertise. This new edition opens with a compelling original case study of a revolutionary new city-car design by ex-Formula One designer Gordon Murray. The study illustrates the complete development of a novel design and brings to life the process of design, from concept through to prototype. The core of the book presents detailed instructions and examples for using design methods throughout the design process, ranging from identifying new product opportunities, through establishing functions and setting requirements, to generating, evaluating and improving alternative designs. This important book: Offers a revised and updated edition of an established, successful text on understanding the design process and using design methods Includes new material on design thinking and design ability and new examples of the use of design methods Presents clear, detailed and illustrated presentations of eight key design methods in engineering product design Written for undergraduates and postgraduates across all fields of engineering and product design, the fifth edition of Engineering Design Methods offers an updated, substantial, and reliable text on product design and innovation.
ISBN: 9781119724377Publication Date: 2021-03-22
The Finite Element Method by
A comprehensive review of the Finite Element Method (FEM), this book provides the fundamentals together with a wide range of applications in civil, mechanical and aeronautical engineering. It addresses both the theoretical and numerical implementation aspects of the FEM, providing examples in several important topics such as solid mechanics, fluid mechanics and heat transfer, appealing to a wide range of engineering disciplines. Written by a renowned author and academician with the Chinese Academy of Engineering, The Finite Element Method would appeal to researchers looking to understand how the fundamentals of the FEM can be applied in other disciplines. Researchers and graduate students studying hydraulic, mechanical and civil engineering will find it a practical reference text.
ISBN: 9781119107330Publication Date: 2018-03-12
Introduction to Machine Learning, Fourth Edition by
A substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive textbook, including new coverage of recent advances in deep learning and neural networks. The goal of machine learning is to program computers to use example data or past experience to solve a given problem. Machine learning underlies such exciting new technologies as self-driving cars, speech recognition, and translation applications. This substantially revised fourth edition of a comprehensive, widely used machine learning textbook offers new coverage of recent advances in the field in both theory and practice, including developments in deep learning and neural networks. The book covers a broad array of topics not usually included in introductory machine learning texts, including supervised learning, Bayesian decision theory, parametric methods, semiparametric methods, nonparametric methods, multivariate analysis, hidden Markov models, reinforcement learning, kernel machines, graphical models, Bayesian estimation, and statistical testing. The fourth edition offers a new chapter on deep learning that discusses training, regularizing, and structuring deep neural networks such as convolutional and generative adversarial networks; new material in the chapter on reinforcement learning that covers the use of deep networks, the policy gradient methods, and deep reinforcement learning; new material in the chapter on multilayer perceptrons on autoencoders and the word2vec network; and discussion of a popular method of dimensionality reduction, t-SNE. New appendixes offer background material on linear algebra and optimization. End-of-chapter exercises help readers to apply concepts learned. Introduction to Machine Learning can be used in courses for advanced undergraduate and graduate students and as a reference for professionals.
ISBN: 9780262358064Publication Date: 2020-03-24
Machine Learning in Manufacturing by
Machine Learning in Manufacturing: Quality 4.0 and the Zero Defects Vision reviews process monitoring based on machine learning algorithms and the technologies of the fourth industrial revolution and proposes Learning Quality Control (LQC), the evolution of Statistical Quality Control (SQC). This book identifies 10 big data issues in manufacturing and addresses them using an ad-hoc, 5-step problem-solving strategy that increases the likelihood of successfully deploying this Quality 4.0 initiative. With two case studies using structured and unstructured data, this book explains how to successfully deploy AI in manufacturing and how to move quality standards forward by developing virtually defect-free processes. This book enables engineers to identify Quality 4.0 applications and manufacturing companies to successfully implement Quality 4.0 practices.
ISBN: 9780323990295Publication Date: 2024-03-22
Machine Learning with Neural Networks by
This modern and self-contained book offers a clear and accessible introduction to the important topic of machine learning with neural networks. In addition to describing the mathematical principles of the topic, and its historical evolution, strong connections are drawn with underlying methods from statistical physics and current applications within science and engineering. Closely based around a well-established undergraduate course, this pedagogical text provides a solid understanding of the key aspects of modern machine learning with artificial neural networks, for students in physics, mathematics, and engineering. Numerous exercises expand and reinforce key concepts within the book and allow students to hone their programming skills. Frequent references to current research develop a detailed perspective on the state-of-the-art in machine learning research.
ISBN: 9781108494939Publication Date: 2021-10-28
Mobile Robot Automation in Warehouses by
This book illustrates the applications of mobile robot systems in warehouse operations with an integrated decision framework for their selection and application. Mobile robot systems are an automation solution in warehouses that make order fulfillment agile, flexible and scalable to cope with the increasing volume and complexity of customer orders. Compared with manual operations, they combine higher productivity and throughput with lower operating costs. As the practical use of mobile robot systems is increasing, decision-makers are confronted with a plethora of decisions. Still, research is lagging in providing the needed academic insights and managerial guidance. The lack of a structured decision framework tailored for mobile robot system applications in warehouses increases the probability of problems when choosing automation systems.This book demonstrates the characteristics of mobile robot systems which reinforce warehouse managers in identifying, evaluating and choosing candidate systems through multiple criteria. Furthermore, the managerial decision framework covering decisions at strategic, tactical and operational levels in detail helps decision-makers to implement a mobile robot solution step-by-step. This book puts special emphasis on change management and operational control of mobile robots using path planning and task allocation algorithms. The book also introduces focus areas that require particular attention to aid the efficiency and practical application of these systems, such as facility layout planning, robot fleet sizing, and human-robot interaction. It will be essential reading for academics and students working on digital warehousing and logistics, as well as practitioners in warehouses looking to make informed decisions.
ISBN: 9783031123061Publication Date: 2023-01-04
Power System Strength by
Power systems need to incorporate rising shares of intermittent renewables. The penetration levels of renewable energy sources, inverter-based resources and inverter-based loads have grown, which has negative impacts on the stability and system strength of existing power systems.
ISBN: 9781839538087Publication Date: 2023-12-12
Software Defined Radio by
As a comprehensive guide to the theory and practice of software-defined radio (SDR)Sofware Defined Radio: Theory and Practice covers a wide range of topics, including the principles of SDR, the design of SDR receivers, and the use of SDR for signal processing and communications. The book features a number of valuable resources for anyone interested in SDR. This includes difficult concepts grasped through straightforward, simple as possible, explanations. There is an abundance of Matlab examples to illustrate explanations and complete Simulink simulations provided for several fully developed digital receivers. This is a great resource for electrical engineers with design responsibility, hobbyists who have a passion for radio, and educators who need well-worked examples to illustrate concepts in class.
ISBN: 9781685690397
