Fashion (including cosmetics): Images, Video and Media

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to the study of fashion and cosmetics, including design, styling, management, business, branding and promotion.

Image Source: BCU Assets

This page lists audio and visual resources from our collection, as well as freely available sources. You will find:

Check the copyright restrictions on images before using them in your work!

Licenses and image rights vary depending on the author and repository. Learn more in the Copyright guide.

Film

Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive
Watch from over 2,500 videos of fashion shows, with accompanying text, from London, Milan, New York and Paris between 1979 to 2003.

BFI Player This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream short and feature films from the British Film Institute's free archive collections.
Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education.
Please see our How do I register for access to Box of Broadcasts (BoB)? FAQ for help with registration.
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream over 20,000 films and documentaries to watch.
Please see our How do I sign in to Kanopy? FAQ for help with access.

True Cost documentary
A documentary about the clothes we wear, the people who make them and the impact of the industry on our world.

Images

Europeana Fashion
Europeana Fashion brings together the digitised collections of more than 30 European public and private institutions.
We Wear Culture
Searchable archive of thousands of fashion collections from around the world. Visual and interactive content, exploring the stories behind clothes, fashion and its place in history.
JSTOR Images
Images on JSTOR are contributed by partnering institutions like universities, museums, and community and private collections including Artstor Digital Library.
Vads
over 140,000 images from over 300 art and design collections in the UK, including fabric, clothing and jewellery images.

Museums and Galleries

Fashion and Textile Museum, London
Founded by iconic British designer Zandra Rhodes, the centre showcases a programme of changing exhibitions exploring elements of fashion and textiles as well as running a wide variety of creative courses and workshops for children, students and businesses.
Fashion Museum, Bath
The Museum holds a world-class collection of contemporary and historic dress, including 'Dress of the Year' from 1963 onwards ...
Victoria and Albert Museum, London
The fashion collections span five centuries. Key items in the collection include rare 17th century gowns, 18th century ‘mantua’ dresses, 1930s eveningwear, 1960s daywear and post-war couture.