Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

University Archive & Special Collections Centre: welcome

COVID-19 Update

You are welcome to contact us at SpecialCollections@bcu.ac.uk for information about our collections and how access can be requested

Given how fast-moving and changeable the situation with regard to the pandemic is, we are happy to provide you with the latest information regarding access the the collections at the time of your enquiry.

Thank you,

Your University Archive & Special Collections team

Welcome

undefinedWelcome to the Records and Archive Centre at Birmingham City University. 

Here you will find details of information resources encompassing the past and present business of the University.

We hold the University archive alongside other Special Collections and can help identify appropriate sources of information for enquiries and projects relating to the collections we hold. 

The Records Centre houses a growing collection of historical archive documents relating to the University’s history. This invaluable resource comprises of bound volumes, registers, minute books, prospectuses, news cuttings and photographic material. The continuance of the archive is being guaranteed through the deposit of current University source books such as prospectuses, statistical handbooks and topical press cuttings.

We are also responsible for promoting good practice in records and information management across the University and can support staff in this area.

Visiting Us

We are located in the Curzon building (C003) at the City Centre Campus. 

At the present time, Special Collections staff are working off campus on some days but are available to answer your email enquiries.

Access to Special Collections and Archives is subject to request.

Usual staffed hours are:

Monday to Thursday 9.00 am - 5.00 pm

Friday 9.00 am - 4.30 pm

If you have any questions, please contact us:

SpecialCollections@bcu.ac.uk

Using the Collections

Everyone is welcome to use the archives. Please give us a few days notice to retrieve the items you wish to view.

In order to preserve the materials we ask that you:

  • Handle the material with clean hands
  • Do not consume food or drink
  • Use a pencil for taking notes
  • Use the book supports and archive gloves where appropriate
  • Keep loose documents in their original order
  • Let us know about any damage or accidents

A photocopying service is available on request. You can use your own mobile phone or digital camera during your visit, for personal research. Copyright and data protection restrictions apply.

Social Media

Statement on copyright of images

Some images and illustrations used in BCU LibGuides are reproduced with kind permission of Getty Images UK under the terms of an exclusive license agreement between BCU and Getty Images. All such licenced material is owned by © Thinkstock  and/or its image partners and are protected by United States copyright laws, international treaty provisions and other applicable laws. Thinkstock and its content providers retain all rights to these images not expressly granted within this license.

Accessibility Statement