Welcome to the Records and Archive Centre at Birmingham City University. We are part of Library and Learning Resources.
Here you will find details of information resources encompassing the past and present business of the university.
We hold the University archive alongside other special collections and can help identify appropriate sources of information for enquiries and projects relating to the collections we hold.
The Records Centre houses a growing collection of historical archive documents relating to the University’s history. This invaluable resource comprises bound volumes, registers, minute books, prospectuses, news cuttings and photographic material. The continuance of the archive is being guaranteed through the deposit of current University source books such as prospectuses, statistical handbooks and topical press cuttings.
We are also responsible for promoting good practice in records and information management across the University and can support staff in this area.
We are located in the Curzon building (C003) at the City Centre Campus
We are open:
Monday to Thursday 9.00 am - 5.00 pm
Friday 9.00 am - 4.30 pm
Access is by appointment only.
Please contact us to arrange a visit:
0121 331 7636
Everyone is welcome to use the archives. Please give us a few days notice to retrieve the items you wish to view.
In order to preserve the materials we ask that you:
We have moved to our new location at the City Centre Campus.
Some images and illustrations used in BCU LibGuides are reproduced with kind permission of Getty Images UK under the terms of an exclusive license agreement between BCU and Getty Images. All such licenced material is owned by © Thinkstock and/or its image partners and are protected by United States copyright laws, international treaty provisions and other applicable laws. Thinkstock and its content providers retain all rights to these images not expressly granted within this license.