Skip to main content

Visual Communications: Welcome

Introduction

Welcome

This guide is for students on Visual Communication courses, it brings together library resources and services to help you during your studies.

To locate the latest eresources added to the library due to the COVID-19 outbreak go to A-Z databases

Meet the Team

Victoria Wreghitt, Collection Management Librarian

I liaise with academics to purchase the required subject resources and assist in developing their online reading lists.

Email Victoria

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sue O'Sullivan Learning, Teaching & Research Services Librarian

Sue can help you find information for your research. Book a tutorial with Sue.

Customer Services Team

The Customer Services librarians are available via chat, or you can pop into Curzon Library 9-5 Monday-Friday and visit us at the HelpDesk. We can offer guidance and support in searching, referencing and using the library resources.

BCU Newsfeed

Resources Gallery

Curzon Library Ground Floor Plan

Curzon Library Upper Floor Plan

Key Databases

Routledge Performance Archive

Search or browse for practitioner overviews, commentary and videos for streaming on dance, performance and theatre.

Academic OneFile

Academic OneFile is the premier source of peer-reviewed full-text scholarly content across the academic disciplines. With millions of articles available in both PDF and HTML full-text.

ARTbibliographies Modern

Modern and contemporary art . (Best viewed using Chrome).

Art Full Text

Art including Asian & other non-Western arts, and feminist criticism. (Best viewed using Chrome).

Box of Broadcasts (BoB)

Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education. A one time email registration is required for new users.

Design and Applied Arts Index

Coverage includes fashion, textiles, interior design, theatre design, industrial design, ceramics, glass, jewellery and photography.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the largest databases of abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from more than 5000 publishers, with coverage including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities research.

ZETOC

Zetoc provides free access to the British Library Electronic Table of Contents (ETOC) database and covers science, technology, medicine, engineering, business, law, finance and the humanities.

Routledge Performance Archive

Search or browse for practitioner overviews, commentary and videos for streaming on art and performance art.

Art Full Text

Art including Asian & other non-Western arts, and feminist criticism. (Best viewed using Chrome).

Bloomsbury Collections

Search or browse for eBooks and eBook chapters to read online or download from a wide variety of topics including architecture, design, education, fashion, law, linguistics, music and sociology. COVID-19 outbreak - Access available until 31st May 2020.

Society of British Theatre Designers Newsfeed

Art Directors Club Newsfeed