Graphic Design, Illustration and Digital Marketing: Books and e-books
This guide brings together key Library resources to help you find information relating to Graphic design, Illustration and Digital Marketing courses.
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Books are organised on the shelves by subject.
The different subjects are all represented by a numerical code we call a shelf mark. This is a 3 digit number followed by some decimal numbers.
The more decimal numbers after the main 3 digit number, the more specific the subject area.
All books and plays are shelved in numerical order according to these shelf marks.
See the guide below for browsing books by subject:
Shelf Guide
Advertising 659.1
Animation: Techniques 777.7
Drawing 741.58
Cartoons 741.5
Communication 302.2
Computer graphics 006.6
Event Design 725.91
Graphic Design 741.6
Painting 759
Posters 741.6 & 769.5
Semiotics 302.2 & 401.4
Typography 686.22 & 741.6
Visual Communication 302.222 & 741.6
Recently Added Books
Becoming a Successful Illustrator by
Get ready to enter the working world of illustration with this freshly updated second edition of Brazell and Davies's Becoming a Successful Illustrator. This edition features even more 'Spotlight on...' sections, with advice from practicing illustrators as well as the people that commission them.
ISBN: 9781474284240Publication Date: 2017-11-30
Character Design Collection: Fairy Tales and Folklore by
Character Design Collection is the dynamic new series from the character-design experts, 3dtotal Publishing. With 50 projects by industry professionals, with extensive explorations of pose, expression, and clothing, artists of all abilities can use this book as reference and inspiration to create breathtaking characters. This second book in this highly illustrated series focuses on creating characters from fairytales and folklore.
ISBN: 9781912843459Publication Date: 2022-06-07
Color Theory by
Giving an overview of the history of color theory from ancient and classical cultures to contemporary contexts, this book explores important critical principles and provides practical guidance on the use of color in art and design. Going beyond a simple recitation of what has historically been said about color, artist and educator Aaron Fine provides an intellectual history, critiquing prevailing Western ideas on the subject and challenging assumptions. He analyses colonialist and gendered attitudes, materialist and romanticist perspectives, spiritualist approaches to color, color in the age of reproduction, and modernist and post-modernist color strategies. Highlighted throughout are examples of the ways in which attitudes towards color have been impacted by the legacy of colonialism and are tied up with race, gender, and class. Topics covered include color models, wheels and charts, color interaction and theories of perception, with over 150 images throughout. By placing under-examined tenets of color theory such as the color wheel and color primaries within the Western industrial context that generated them, Fine helps you to connect color choices to color meanings and apply theory to practice.
ISBN: 9781350027305Publication Date: 2021-09-09
Editorial Illustration: Context, Content and CreationISBN: 9781350096899
Fake Love Letters, Forged Telegrams, and Prison Escape Maps by
A behind-the-scenes look at the extraordinary and meticulous design of graphic objects for film sets Although graphic props such as invitations, letters, tickets, and packaging are rarely seen close-up by a cinema audience, they are designed in painstaking detail. Dublin-based designer Annie Atkins invites readers into the creative process behind her intricately designed, rigorously researched, and visually stunning graphic props. These objects may be given just a fleeting moment of screen time, but their authenticity is vital and their role is crucial: to nudge both the actors on set and the audience just that much further into the fictional world of the film.
ISBN: 9780714879383Publication Date: 2020-02-19
Graphic Design Play Book by
'Truly something that's just a beautiful, slick, and very enjoyable little publication' - CreativeBoom "Graphic Design Play Book features a variety of puzzles and challenges, providing a fun and interactive way for young visual thinkers to engage with the world of graphic design" - Eye Understand how graphic design works and develop your visual sensibility through puzzles and activities! An entertaining and highly original introduction to graphic design, the Graphic Design Play Book uses puzzles and visual challenges to demonstrate how typography, signage, logo design, posters and branding work. Through a series of games and activities, including spot the difference, matching games, drawing and dot-to-dot, readers are introduced to graphic art concepts and techniques in an engaging and interactive way. Further explanation and information is provided by solution pages and a glossary, and a loose-leaf section contains stickers, die-cut templates, and coloured paper to help readers complete the activities. Illustrated with typefaces, poster design and pictograms by distinguished designers including Otl Aicher, Pierre Di Sciullo, Otto Neurath and Gerd Arntz, the book will be enjoyed both by graphic designers, and anyone interested in finding out more about visual communication. An excerpt from the book: How many ways are there of saying 'hello'? Probably a zillion. And there are surely just as many ways of writing it. In CAPITALS, and with an exclamation mark ! Or with a question mark ? Or maybe both ?! As a tiny black word in the middle of a white page; or with large, multi-coloured, dancing letters ; maybe with a simple shape or an image. Being interested in graphic design means looking at and understanding the world around us. And being aware of the multitude of signs that shape our daily life day after day and freight it with meaning - whether it's a stop sign, a cornflakes packet, a psychedelic album cover, a seductive headline on the cover of a magazine, the more subtle typography of a page in a novel, a flashing pharmacy sign or the credits of a sci-fi film. Thinking about this plethora of signs was what led us to conceive this introduction to graphic design as a collection of beacons and benchmarks - as a toolbox for exploring and learning in a simple and intuitive way through play, alone or with others, whether you're a child or an adult. These are experiments, a series of suggestions, with no right or wrong answers. The four sections of this book - typography, posters, signs, identity - are all invitations to dive in, explore and let your eyes and your hands take you on a voyage of discovery! - Sophie Cure and Aurélien Farina
ISBN: 9781786273963Publication Date: 2019-06-25
Graphic Events by
Essays and interviews on the precarious life of designed objects Once an object of graphic design leaves the designer's computer, it enters an unpredictable and precarious existence in the world. Posters, packaging and flyers may be ripped from walls, littered on streets or left to fade in shop windows. This chasm between the conception and the material life of designed objects is familiar and apparent to all, but is curiously under-theorized within the discipline. Graphic Events calls on graphic designers to embrace the uncertainty their designs face as they circulate in the world. It proposes that, rather than ignore the fact or to attempt to "solve" the problem, designers should play with this unpredictable process. This volume contains interviews with and essays by philosophers, graphic designers, photographers and artists, as well as a poem by Philip Larkin and an excerpt from a memoir by Patti Smith that engage with graphics in the real world.
ISBN: 9789493148666Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Graphic Novels and Visual Cultures in South Asia by
Graphic Novels and Visual Cultures in South Asia explores the shifting landscapes of the graphic narratives and related visual cultures scene in South Asia today. This exciting volume explores the ever-developing scene of graphic novels, graphic narratives and related visual cultures in South Asia. Covering topics such as Tamil comics, material memory, the politics of graphic adaptation, the fandom of Ms Marvel as well as watching Pakistani social lives on Indian TV, this collection of essays are testament to how visual cultures across South Asia are responding to a new world order. The collection of work explores how certain visual cultures in South Asia are attempting to re-shape previous modes of visuality by unpacking what it means to be living in South Asia today. Through its inclusion of articles, visual essays and in-conversation pieces, this collection offers insight into the ways in which this narrative is unfolding, the kind of stories which are being told and how, in telling these stories, South Asian society is called upon to engage and crucially, to react to what we see, how and why we see it. This book was originally published as a special issue of the South Asian Popular Culture journal.
ISBN: 9780367437114Publication Date: 2020-02-10
A History of Arab Graphic Design by
PROSE AWARD WINNER, ART HISTORY & CRITICISM The first-ever book-length history of Arab graphic design Arab graphic design emerged in the early twentieth century out of a need to influence, and give expression to, the far-reaching economic, social, and political changes that were taking place in the Arab world at the time. But graphic design as a formally recognized genre of visual art only came into its own in the region in the twenty-first century and, to date, there has been no published study on the subject to speak of. A History of Arab Graphic Design traces the people and events that were integral to the shaping of a field of graphic design in the Arab world. Examining the work of over eighty key designers from Morocco to Iraq, and covering the period from pre-1900 to the end of the twentieth century, Bahia Shehab and Haytham Nawar chart the development of design in the region, beginning with Islamic art and Arabic calligraphy, and their impact on Arab visual culture, through to the digital revolution and the arrival of the Internet. They look at how cinema, economic prosperity, and political and cultural events gave birth to and shaped the founders of Arab graphic design. Highlighting the work of key designers and stunningly illustrated with over 600 color images, A History of Arab Graphic Design is an invaluable resource tool for graphic designers, one which, it is hoped, will place Arab visual culture and design on the map of a thriving international design discourse.
ISBN: 9774168917Publication Date: 2020-12-15
How to Be an Illustrator by
This book offers practical help and guidance to aspiring illustrators. All areas of the job are covered - how to create a portfolio; the most effective ways to approach would-be clients; how to prepare for meetings and negotiate contracts; and how to handle, deliver, and bill a job. There is advice on how to avoid the pitfalls that can undermine crucial first impressions; how to set up a studio; and how to maintain a flow of work and manage oneOCOs time and cash. Success in self-promotion, creating websites, self-publishing, and the pros and cons of agents are all explored.International illustrators are interviewed, discussing how they got their break in the industry, their experiences with clients, their methods of promoting work, and more. In addition, leading art directors describe their approach to commissioning illustration, how they spot new talent, their thoughts on promotional material, and their advice to up-and-coming illustrators.Packed with useful tips gleaned from the authorOCOs own career as an illustrator, and his work as an agent handling some of the best new talent, the book is an essential read for anyone looking to succeed in illustration."
ISBN: 9781780674209Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Inside the Business of Illustration by
This guide to the ins and outs of today's dynamic illustration business tells budding illustrators everything that their teacher didn't know or their art director didn't tell them. Using an entertaining, running narrative format to look at key concerns every illustrator must face today, this book covers finding one's unique style and establishing a balance between art and commerce; tackling issues of authorship and promotion; and more. In-depth perspectives are offered by illustrators, art directors, and art buyers from various industries and professional levels on such issues as quality, price negotiation, and illustrator-client relationships. * Includes an afterword by Milton Glaser, well-known designer/illustrator * From the authors of The Education of an Illustrator (1-58115-075-x) Allworth Press, an imprint of Skyhorse Publishing, publishes a broad range of books on the visual and performing arts, with emphasis on the business of art. Our titles cover subjects such as graphic design, theater, branding, fine art, photography, interior design, writing, acting, film, how to start careers, business and legal forms, business practices, and more. While we don't aspire to publish a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are deeply committed to quality books that help creative professionals succeed and thrive. We often publish in areas overlooked by other publishers and welcome the author whose expertise can help our audience of readers.
ISBN: 9781581153866Publication Date: 2004-10-01
Letters from M/M (Paris) by
A fabulous typographic exploration of the letter forms and typography of one of Europe's leading design studios. Letters from M/M (Paris) is a comprehensive study of the typefaces produced by Michaël Amzalag and Mathias Augustyniak since they founded their influential art and design practice, M/M (Paris). For the first time, ninety of the designers' typefaces are catalogued chronologically in a three-part volume, comprising the history of their development; exclusive type specimens; and detailed illustrations of projects in which they appear. With a foreword by Björk - whose collaboration with M/M spans over two decades - this encyclopaedic volume traces the distinctive and integral nature of type, lettering and signs in the work of M/M, from one-off artistic commissions to fashion branding and their long-lasting collaborations with musicians and theatres. This complete typographic collection is the perfect companion to the two-volume monograph M to M of M/M (Paris), and will appeal not only to graphic designers, historians and students, but to anyone interested in art and visual culture.
ISBN: 9780500025277Publication Date: 2023-01-24
Research for People Who Think They Would Rather Create by
From writing style and the use of visuals to formulating your topic and methodology, Dirk Vis shows artists of all stripes how to present research In this user-friendly volume, author Dirk Vis lays out the basics of research for artists, offering a guide to the groundwork that has long been lacking. How to formulate your topic and your argument; how to structure your text rhetorically; how to deploy quotations effectively; how to disseminate and distribute your work in a community: Vis guides readers through all of these questions in a clear and accessible fashion. This book is essential for students of the arts across all disciplines. Amsterdam-based writer Dirk Vis (born 1981) writes fiction, columns, scripts and essays on art and technology. His works of nonfiction and fiction have been published in Dutch: Bestseller (2009), the e-book The reality-essay (2017) and a series of texts in various forms and mediums.
ISBN: 9789493148437Publication Date: 2023-03-28
Sustainable Graphic Design by
There is little appreciation for what happens to graphic design artifacts after their useful life has ended. Sustainable Graphic Design outlines graphic design's relationship to production and consumption, demonstrating how designers can contribute solution-oriented responses to consumption, through tools and methodologies applicable to both education and practice. The book provides an overview of sustainable graphic design, based on global engagement with design's relationship to consumption, and features highly creative work inspired by complex issues and including studies of a variety of visual artifacts, the larger built environment and the very ordinary products of consumption. Presenting cutting-edge work in graphic design from practitioners, educators and students from North America, Northern Europe, Australia and the Far East, the book helps students visualize their future roles engaging with the field in response to ecological concerns, social justice and present systems of design by using extensive case studies of student work with step-by step instructions adapted for use by instructors.
ISBN: 9780857850638Publication Date: 2016-08-25
Visual Research by
Packed with more than 200 colour illustrations, Visual Research explores a range of research methods that can be used by graphic designers and visual communicators in the development of clear and purposeful design solutions. The book introduces key terms and theories that underlie design research; examining the importance of visual grammar and design literacy, audience, communication theory and semiotics. Each chapter features case studies, many new to this edition, that demonstrate how the use of research methods can form the basis of effective visual communication and design problem solving, eschewing end-product analysis for a discussion of the way research feeds into the design process. With new case studies from Matt Cooke, Colette Sadlier and many others, this new edition also brings together all of the 'Key Concept' features and content from previous editions into their own distinct chapter, making it easier for readers to discover design-led tools and information design methods, for both print and on-screen design.
ISBN: 9781350160569Publication Date: 2022-09-08
Web and Digital for Graphic Designers by
Creative web design requires knowledge from across the design and technical realms, and it can seem like a daunting task working out where to get started.In this book the authors take you through all you need to know about designing for the web and digital, from initial concepts and client needs, through layout and typography to basic coding, e-commerce and working with different platforms. The companion website provides step-by-step tutorial videos, HTML/CSS styling tips and links to useful resources to really help you get to grips with all the aspects of web design. Working alongside the text are interviews with international designers and critical commentaries looking at best practice and theoretical considerations.Written for graphic designers, this book delivers more than just an instruction manual - it provides a complete overview of designing for the web.
ISBN: 9781350027664Publication Date: 2019-11-14
