Project Management: New books
This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Project Management course.
Your librarian updates this list periodically.
New books
AI-Driven Project Management by
Accelerate your next project with artificial intelligence and ChatGPT In AI-Driven Project Management: Harnessing the Power of Artificial Intelligence and ChatGPT to Achieve Peak Productivity and Success, veteran IT and project management advisor Kristian Bainey delivers an insightful collection of strategies for automating the administration and management of projects. In the book, the author focuses on four key areas where project leaders can achieve improved results with AI's data-centric capabilities: minimizing surprises, minimizing bias, increasing standards, and accelerating decision making. You'll also find: Primers on the role of AI and ChatGPT in Agile, Hybrid, and Predictive approaches to project management How to accurately forecast a project with ChatGPT Techniques for crafting impactful AI strategy using AI project management principles Perfect for managers, executives, and business leaders everywhere, AI-Driven Project Management is also a must-read for project management professionals, tech professionals and enthusiasts, and anyone else interested in the intersection of artificial intelligence, machine learning, and project management.
ISBN: 9781394232215Publication Date: 2024-04-23
Design Methods and Practices for Research of Project Management by
Design Methods and Practices for Research of Project Management is the most comprehensive guide on how to do research on and in project management. Project management as a discipline has experienced near-exponential growth in its application across the business and not-for-profit sectors. This second edition of the authoritative reference book offers a substantial update on the first edition with over 60% new content and so provides both practitioner and student researchers with a fully up-to-date and complete guide to research practice on project management. In Design Methods and Practices for Research of Project Management, Beverly Pasian and Rodney Turner have brought together 26 original chapters from many of the leading international thinkers in project management research. The collection looks at each step in the research stages, including research strategy, management, methodology (quantitative and qualitative), and techniques as well as how to share and publish research findings. The chapters offer an international perspective with examples from a wide range of project management applications; engineering, construction, megaprojects, high-risk environments, and social transformation. Each chapter includes tips and exercises for the research student, as well as a complete set of further references. The book is the go-to text for practitioners undertaking research in companies, and also doctoral and master's students and their supervisors who are involved in research projects in and for universities.
ISBN: 9781032123875Publication Date: 2024-05-10
The Digital Project Management Evolution by
Project management dates back to the 19th century when Henry Gantt developed techniques for planning and controlling projects, including his widely used Gantt chart. The growth of modern project management later in the century came as a result of the necessity of structured manufacturing, transportation, and construction industries. Currently, software developers in the information technology (IT) industry are concerned with the techniques of project management which make the assumption projects are predictable. In reality, unforeseen changes have occurred in almost all projects to date. The inability to accommodate such changes leads to wasted time, money, and resources. Hence, the project management discipline must continuously offer theories, methods, and approaches that raise the key question: how do people manage the complexities of work in order to achieve the end result effectively and efficiently by applying strategic techniques using information technology as an enabler? This book aims to showcase the nuts and bolts of managing and implementing an IT project from the experiences and views of project managers. The book highlights captivating narratives of different IT projects being implemented in companies across the Middle East. It is ideal for executives, practitioners, and students who want to learn more about how IT project management is implemented in the 21st century.
ISBN: 9781000703108Publication Date: 2019-10-16
Establishing a Performance Index for Construction Project Managers by
Assessment of professional competence for project managers and the measure of project success is well-trodden ground in the research and professional project management literature. Whilst standards and certifications like PMBOK and the IPMA competence baseline have been developed as a guide for the development of project managers' competence, the manifestation of these competencies into good performance is neither guaranteed nor always easily ascertainable. This book presents a brand new, comprehensive, and reliable quantitative tool to assess the performance of a construction project manager. Though the performance of a project construction manager may be judged on time and cost criteria of a project, there is still no one conclusive evaluation tool based on the varied criteria or competencies that are usually ascribed to them. This book develops a performance index for construction project professionals which can be indicative of their performance measured over varied attributes over the lifetime of their professional development. This index has the potential to provide all project stakeholders with better control over selecting appropriate resources for managing projects and drive the project professional from within towards improving his/her credentials with every project. This book can be used by aspiring and practising project managers for measuring their own performance and assessing their relative strengths and weaknesses. Organizations can use the tool as a benchmark to select the best of their human resources for their projects, and training institutions can use the tool to set a baseline, highlight areas for intervention, and indicate the readiness of trainees to face real world projects.
ISBN: 9781000845907Publication Date: 2023-03-03
Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK Guide) and the Standard for Project Management by
PMBOK® Guide is the go-to resource for project management practitioners. The project management profession has significantly evolved due to emerging technology, new approaches and rapid market changes. Reflecting this evolution, The Standard for Project Management enumerates 12 principles of project management and the PMBOK® Guide - Seventh Edition is structured around eight project performance domains. This edition is designed to address practitioners' current and future needs and to help them be more proactive, innovative and nimble in enabling desired project outcomes. This edition of the PMBOK® Guide: Reflects the full range of development approaches (predictive, adaptive, hybrid, etc.); Provides an entire section devoted to tailoring the development approach and processes; Includes an expanded list of models, methods, and artifacts; Focuses on not just delivering project outputs but also enabling outcomes; and Integrates with PMIstandards+(tm) for information and standards application content based on project type, development approach, and industry sector.
ISBN: 9781628256642Publication Date: 2021-08-01
Lean Project Management - How to Apply Lean Thinking to Project Management by
This book shows how the principles of Lean Management can be applied to project management and how some typical problems of project management can be solved by this. The author first provides a theoretical description of what project management is about and explains its tasks and methods as well as its limitations. He also describes how the Lean idea came about and derives five principles from it that can also be applied to project management. Along these principles, the author then elaborates typical current challenges of project management and shows how these challenges can be tackled through Lean Project Management. In doing so, he does not stop at the level of principles, but describes specific tasks and tools that are useful especially for experienced practitioners of project management. This book is a translation of the original German 1st edition Lean Project Management - Wie man den Lean-Gedanken im Projektmanagement einsetzen kann by Rainer Erne, published by Springer Fachmedien Wiesbaden GmbH, part of Springer Nature in 2019. The translation was done with the help of artificial intelligence (machine translation by the service DeepL.com). A subsequent human revision was done primarily in terms of content, so that the book will read stylistically differently from a conventional translation. Springer Nature works continuously to further the development of tools for the production of books and on the related technologies to support the authors.
ISBN: 9783658355715Publication Date: 2022-01-30
Optimizing Project Management by
SHELVING GUIDE: Project Management This hands-on guide is written for project professionals seeking to find an optimized way of performing project management. It provides answers to such critical questions as: Why should an organization apply project management? What is the value of project management in the broader context of an organization? Is project management as successful as some advocates suggested or is it a waste of time and resources because of the many extensive and bureaucratic processes? Which project management approach should our project team adopt: predictive or adaptive, waterfall or rolling water, extreme programming or Scrum? This book aims to provide an optimized view of project management by balancing and blending competing methodologies (e.g., traditional versus Agile), lengthy methodologies and broad principles, processes and practices, and the need to understand versus the need to apply. It includes project management templates, an integrated case study illustrating how to apply tools and concepts, and a glossary of key terms. Optimizing Project Managementis for both aspiring and practicing project management professionals. It covers the core concepts, practices, and skills that are useful for developing new ideas, planning activities, implementing projects, and conducting planning and controlling of schedule, budget, and scope. The text is particularly useful for students, project professionals wanting to refresh their knowledge, and those pursuing project management certifications. This book is aligned with common project management standards such as the Project Management Body of Knowledge and theISO 21502: Project, Programme and Portfolio Management -- Guidance on Project Management.
ISBN: 9780367429928Publication Date: 2020-05-18
Optimizing Project Work, Management, and Delivery by
Thousands of project management-related books have been written. Why is Optimizing Project Work, Management, and Delivery different? This book represents the authors' experiences gained from looking at the problem of project management for 50 years and wondering why projects cannot be more successful. Experience from various management models and techniques has helped but still does not fit reality or provide accurate forecasts. Industry surveys have compiled the root causes of project failure, and yet they persist. Is there no answer to this problem? As the book explains, the management solution is not in the models or the theory but is found in how they are mapped against the actual target project characteristics. This is the book's unique strength. There are major coverage gaps in current project management models that also need to be recognized. All of the existing models are correct in some ways, and yet each is also wrong. The book starts by reviewing popular models and related topics that help construct the building blocks of an integrated model structure, which is at the core of this book. The integrated model described here is meant to be a decision-oriented view related to the project life cycle rather than a cookbook of success steps. Project management is too complex for a cookbook approach. This text helps managers find that right path.
ISBN: 9781000951882Publication Date: 2023-09-19
Project Management by
Planning and Scheduling Techniques for Project Management is a highly readable guide to the essentials of project planning, scheduling, and control.
ISBN: 9781032549378Publication Date: 2023-11-01
Project Management, Planning and Control by
Covering the principles and techniques you need to successfully manage an engineering or technical project from start to finish, Project Management, Planning and Control is an established and widely recommended project management handbook. Building on its clear and detailed coverage of planning, scheduling and control, this eighth edition includes new case studies from industries including petrochemical and construction, as well as updates throughout to account for changes and best practice in governance and adjudication. It also now includes expanded coverage of AI, Big Data and sustainability. Ideal for those studying for Project Management Professional (PMP) qualifications, Project Management, Planning and Control is aligned with the latest Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK) for both the Project Management Institute (PMI) and the Association of Project Management (APM) and includes questions and answers to help you test your understanding.
ISBN: 9780128243398Publication Date: 2021-08-27
Project Management for Mobility Engineers: Principles and Case Studies by
Project Management for Mobility Engineers: Principles and Case Studies provides the latest training, workshops and support consultation to Design and Development companies to optimize their New Product Development (NPD) strategies, organizational structures, and Design Document Management Systems to respond to the fast-paced and ever evolving demands and challenges facing today's mobility companies.
ISBN: 9780768093612Publication Date: 2020-03-17
Project Management in Practice by
Project Management in Practice, 7th Edition presents an applied approach to the essential tools, strategies, and techniques students must understand to achieve success in their future careers. Emphasizing the technical aspects of the project management life cycle, this popular textbook offers streamlined, student-friendly coverage of project activity, risk planning, budgeting and scheduling, resource allocation, project monitoring, evaluating and closing the project, and more. Providing new and updated content throughout, the seventh edition's concise pedagogy and hands-on focus is ideally suited for use in one-semester courses or modules on project management. Clear and precise chapters describe fundamental project management concepts while addressing the skills real-world project managers must possess to meet the strategic goals of their organizations. Integrated throughout the text are comprehensive cases that build upon the material from previous chapters--complemented by wealth of illustrative examples, tables and figures, review questions, and discussion topics designed to reinforce key information.
ISBN: 9781119702962Publication Date: 2020-09-16
Project Management Theory and Practice, Third Edition by
Project Management: Theory and Practice, Third Edition gives students a broad and real flavor of project management. Bringing project management to life, it avoids being too sterilely academic and too narrowly focused on a particular industry view. It takes a model-based approach towards project management commonly used in all industries. The textbook aligns with the latest version of the Project Management Institute's Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®) Guide, which is considered to be the de facto standard for project management. However, it avoids that standard's verbiage and presents students with readable and understandable explanations. Core chapters align with the Project Management Institute's model as well as explain how this model fits real-world projects. The textbook can be used as companion to the standard technical model and help those studying for various project management certifications. The textbook takes an in-depth look at the following areas important to the standard model: Work Breakdown Structures (WBS) Earned Value Management (EVM) Enterprise project management Portfolio management (PPM) Professional responsibility and ethics Agile life cycle The text begins with a background section (Chapters 1-9) containing material outside of the standard model structure but necessary to prepare students for the 10 standard model knowledge areas covered in the chapters that follow. The text is rounded out by eight concluding chapters that explain advanced planning approaches models and projects' external environments. Recognizing that project management is an evolving field, the textbook includes section written by industry experts who share their insight and expertise on cutting-edge topics. It prepares students for upcoming trends and changes in project management while providing an overview of the project management environment today. In addition to guiding students through current models and standards, Project Management: Theory and Practice, Third Edition prepares students for the future by stimulating their thinking beyond the accepted pragmatic view.
ISBN: 9780429874758Publication Date: 2018-07-27
Software Project Management by
The management of a software project has been shown to be the number one factor in determining a project's success. It has been found that 53% of software projects failures are due to poor management. The book remedies this situation in two ways: explaining the discipline and providing fact-based resources on software project management.
ISBN: 9781032430577Publication Date: 2024-06-14
