Midwifery: Key Midwifery databases

This guide contains all the resources and services available from the library to support Midwifery courses.

The following databases will enable you to discover academic papers and research within the field of Midwifery. Often by searching within a subject-specific database your results will be more focused and relevant.

Usually you can conduct either a basic or advance search - an advanced search enables you to combine key words more effectively and to search within specific fields, such as author.

Sometimes you may find a journal article which is not available to BCU online, but you can always consider requesting it through an Inter-Library Loan request.

CINAHL Ultimate
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full text links, on nursing, health visiting, midwifery and allied health topics.
CINAHL Ultimate will be migrating to a new user interface on Monday 15th December. Please read our Library News Story and FAQ for further information.
Between now and the migration you can practise searching CINAHL Ultimate through the new user interface via our preview access.
For help with searching CINAHL Ultimate through the current user interface please see our range of video guides.

Learn how to use CINHAL with the health databases video guides.

MEDLINE
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search MEDLINE for abstracts & citations for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library
Search for evidence to inform healthcare decisions. Includes access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Learn how to search Cochrane Library with the health databases video guides.

PsycArticles and PsycInfo
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full-text links, on psychology, psychiatry, mental health and the social sciences.