Midwifery: Additional databases
The following additional databases will suggest academic papers and research from across a range of subject areas.
Usually you can conduct either a basic or advanced search - an advanced search enables you to combine key words more effectively and to search within specific fields, such as author or title.
Sometimes you may find a journal article which is not available to BCU online, but you can always consider requesting it through a Inter-Library Loan request.
- AMED This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles on alternative treatment topics including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education.
- Campbell Collaboration This link opens in a new window
Search for systematic reviews, evidence summaries and briefing papers on crime, education, health, nutrition and social care topics.
- Clinical Trials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for summary information on international clinical trial protocols. - EU Clinical Trials Register This link opens in a new windowSearch for protocols and results of clinical trials on medicines conducted in the European Union and wider European economic area.
- Lexis+ UK This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search legal research, including practical guidance, for cases, books, guidance, legislation, journals and tools to support your law studies and legal work.
- Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Stream over 20,000 films and documentaries to watch.
- Maternity and Infant Care Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations from journals, books and guidelines on the care of women and children, including pregnancy, labour, birth, postnatal care, neonatal care and infant feeding. Please log out when finished using. Only 2 concurrent users allowed at a time. - MATFLIX This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Stream over 1,300 videos of presentations from maternity and midwifery experts. - Nutrition and Food Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations, including some with full-text access, of journal articles and research reviews on topics including diet and nutrition, clinical nutrition, food safety and storage, food science, food processing and technology and food law and economics. - ProQuest One Business: eBooks This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for eBooks on business, leadership and management topics. - ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on exercise, fitness, sports and sports medicine.
- TRIP This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search TRIP, including the PICO search tool option, for clinical evidence. Please note that access to TRIP Pro, including the Advanced and Recent search options, is not available.
- Westlaw UK This link opens in a new window
Search or browse this legal database for cases, legislation, journals, current awareness alerts and topic reviews. Also include access to US and international law materials.
- ChildlinkOne stop source of information on legislation, policies and practices concerning children, young people, families and adult safeguarding.
Databases icons key:
Help pages and user guide.
Open Access.
Podcast available.
App available.
Library dashboard post.