Skip to main content Skip to main menu Skip to section menu

Guidance for Researchers: 2023 Autumn workshops

This guide aims to support academics in many aspects of their research with workshops, information about publishing trends, and any useful tools and resources.

The Autumn Term 2023 Researchers workshops programme runs from 21st to 29th November and offers researchers the opportunity to:

Nov 21: Advanced Searching Using Web of Science and Scopus

This session will help you design a search strategy, conduct a basic document search, expand your search results, download and export your results and save your searches and create search alerts. Key features include:

  1. Advanced searching using Scopus
  2. Advanced searching using Web of Science

Speaker: James Dean, Learning, Teaching and Research Librarian, The Library & Learning Resources. 

James is a Learning, Teaching and Research Librarian at Birmingham City University, working with the Faculty of Computing Engineering and the Built Environment to deliver information literacy sessions to all levels of students and staff. James has worked at Birmingham City University for over 30 years in much the same role. He has been nominated in the Professional Services staff of the year category at the I AM BCU awards for 4 of the last 5 years.  He had previously worked at the Mott MacDonald library in Croydon supporting the information needs of civil engineering consultants and worked for a year at the London Library, one of the world's leading literary institutions.

Tuesday 21st Nov., 9.30-11.00, online. Workshop slides can be found below. The recording will be shared in due course below. Many thanks for your interest.  

Nov 22: Using EndNote to Manage Your References

This session will help you create an account with EndNote Web and show you how to use EndNote to cite and manage your references. Key features include:

  1. How to import and export references into EndNote from a range of sources.
  2. Creating a library of references and manage your library by creating groups.
  3. Organizing your references.
  4. Using EndNote with Word, selecting BCU Harvard as a bibliographic style and inserting citations into a document.

Speaker: Jagjit Marwaha from IT services.

Wednesday 22nd Nov., 10-11.30am, Online.

This session has taken place. Any queries about EndNote and bookings for training, contact Jag Marwaha directly. Brief notes are enclosed below for your information.

Nov 28: Maintaining momentum: using aggregators to facilitate your current awareness

Keeping on top of the disparate sources of information in order to ensure you are constantly abreast of changes in your subject area can be time consuming and overwhelming. Here we will introduce you to the idea of aggregators which, as online tools, will help you organise the many strands of information you need to monitor into a simple newsfeed for your own use.

Speaker: Andrew Sayer.

Andrew Sayer is a Learning, Teaching and Research Librarian at Birmingham City University, working with the School of Health Sciences to deliver Information Literacy sessions to all levels of students and staff. Andrew has worked at Birmingham City University for over 20 years in various roles for Library and Learning Resources.

The workshop took  place on Tuesday 28th November, 10.00-11.30, in person with online option, Seacole SCT010. Recording will be made available in due course.

Nov 29: Researcher's Workshop: Search and Discovery in Archives and Special Collections

This workshop will provide you with an opportunity to meet Special Collections Librarian Nancy Jackson. She will present a selection of rare and culturally significant items which represent different collections within the University Archive & Special Collections Centre. 

The session can be viewed online and you can follow-up with an appointment to visit the items in the University Archive & Special Collections Centre. Join us to discover how resources within these collections could be incorporated into your teaching and support your research.

Speaker: Nancy Jackson

Nancy Jackson is our University Archive & Special Collections Centre Librarian at Birmingham City University. Nancy is an experienced teacher, having completed a PGCE prior to work at BCU in addition to having acquired her Postgraduate Certificate in Higher Education while working at BCU. Nancy would be glad to discuss items you may wish her to present to your students or which you would like to incorporate into your existing teaching. Nancy is keen to support and facilitate research in the University Archive & Special Collections Centre, wherever possible matching your research interests with items in our exceptional collections.

The workshop took place on Wednesday 29th Nov., 10.30am-.12.00pm, In person in Curzon Room 422, with online option. Nancy's presentation slides are available, see below 

Was this page useful?