Employability Skills: Current Awareness
To enhance your credibility and help you ask informed and relevant questions at interviews, you will need to keep up to date with developments and news in your chosen field.
Employers will want you to demonstrate that you have an understanding of the organisation's history and strategy and that you are aware of any current political or economic issues that may have an impact.
The following databases and search engines will let you search across multiple sources quickly and access local, national and international news.
Databases
The library subscribes to a large number of subject specific databases that you access for current awareness.
Listed below are examples of useful databases however.
- A-N The Artists Information Company This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A-N Magazine, blogs, event details, news and practical resources for artists, art students and art professionals. - Marketline Advantage This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Identify marketing information, including company reports, case studies and finance information, by industry, country or company. - Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Nexis for news, business and companies information including from UK and International local and regional newspapers
All the databases are listed in on the A-Z of databases page.
The library guide for your subject also includes databases related to your subject.
News sites
- Yahoo Finance UK & Irelandcurrent and historical share prices and selected actuarial indices.
Journals
The library subscribes to a large number of subject specific journals that you access for current awareness. You can search for articles or specific journals on Library Search. You can also use your subject guide to look for subject specific resources.