Architecture: Key Resources

This guide brings together key resources to help you find information relating to Architecture, including architecture and landscape architecture.

Image Credit: BCU Assets

Key resources for Architecture and Landscape Architecture, including:

For help, book a tutorial with your learning, teaching and research librarian.

Architecture, Planning and Landscape

ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text content from the Association for Computing Machinery publications including journals, conference proceedings, magazines and newsletters.
Architects' Journal Buildings Library This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the AJ Buildings Library free collections of photographs and drawings of architectural projects.
Architecture.com This link opens in a new window
Search the RIBA library catalogue for abstracts and citations of journal articles.
British Standards Online Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text access to British Standards and other international standards.
Please see our How do I download British Standards Online documents? FAQ for further help.
Construction Information Service This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Legislation, standards, guidelines and regulations for architects and the building and construction industry. Click on the menu item for the Construction Information Service - CIS to access.
Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles and news items on topics including advertising, art, ceramics, crafts, fashion, glass, jewellery, industrial design, interior design, photography and textiles.
DETAIL Inspiration This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for drawings, images, plans and technical information relevant to the study of architecture, building construction and structural engineering.
GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles and other scholarly content on topics including global warming, pollution, recycling, renewable energy and other sustainability issues.
IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of technical information for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
RICS isurv This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for cases, checklists, guidance, standards and templates from the Royal Institute of Chartered Surveyors.
Specify-It This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Product and supplier catalogues for the building and construction industry. View more for access instructions. Click on the menu item for Knowledge Workspace for access.

Multidisciplinary databases

Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography.
JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects.
Includes access to the following archive journal collections: Arts & Sciences I-XV; Business IV; Hebrew Journals; Ireland; Life Sciences; Lives of Literature; Public Health Journals; Security Studies; and Sustainability, and the following primary source collections: 19th Century British Pamphlets; World Heritage Sites: Africa; Struggles for Freedom: Southern Africa; and Global Plants.

Maps

Digimap This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Twelve collections providing maps and map data of Great Britain. Data is available to download, for use with appropriate software such as geographical information systems (GIS) or computer-aided design (CAD), to print or to view online.
Please see our How do I register for access to Digimap? FAQ for help with registration.

DEFRA magicmap The MAGIC website provides geographic information about the natural environment from across government. The information covers rural, urban, coastal and marine environments across Great Britain. It is presented in an interactive map which can be explored using various mapping tools that are included.