Skip to main content

Textiles: Welcome

Introduction

Welcome

This guide is for students on Textiles courses, it brings together key library resources and services to help you during your studies.

You may also find the following guide useful:

  • Fashion (including Fashion Branding Communication and Fashion Business Promotion).

To locate the latest eresources added to the library due to the COVID-19 outbreak go to A-Z databases

Meet the Team

Victoria Wreghitt, Collection Management Librarian

I liaise with academics to purchase the required subject resources and assist in developing their online reading lists.

Email Victoria

 

 

 

 

 

 

Sue O'Sullivan Learning, Teaching & Research Services Librarian

Sue can help you find information for your research. Book a tutorial with Sue.

Customer Services Team

The Customer Services librarians are available via chat, or you can pop into Curzon Library 9-5 Monday-Friday and visit us at the HelpDesk. We can offer guidance and support in searching, referencing and using the library resources.

BA Textile Design Newsfeed

Resources Gallery

Curzon Library Ground Floor Plan

Curzon Library Upper Floor Plan

Key Databases

Art Full Text

Art including Asian & other non-Western arts, and feminist criticism. (Best viewed using Chrome).

Common Objective

Business database for the ethical and sustainable fashion industry from the Ethical Fashion Forum. Common Objective has replaced SOURCE.

Design and Applied Arts Index

Coverage includes fashion, textiles, interior design, theatre design, industrial design, ceramics, glass, jewellery and photography.

Drapers Online

News, commentary and features on fashion business, fashion companies and fashion retail.

Fashion Monitor

Discover fashion contacts and influencers and keep up to date with the latest fashion news and events.

LS:N Global (CURRENTLY ONLY ACCESSIBLE ON-CAMPUS)

LS:N Global is a subscription-based service developed by The Future Laboratory that helps you understand the market and consumer forces shaping the future across a wide variety of industries globally.

Mintel

Provides access to full-text consumer research reports. (Automotive, Beauty,Drink,Food,Health,Leisure,Media,Clothing and Footwear,Home,Technology,Travel).

WGSN

Fashion and lifestyle & interiors images, videos, reports, news and topic reviews. View more for login information.

Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases

Search for case studies to support the development of essential business skills required in the fashion industry. COVID-19 outbreak - Access available until 31st May 2020.

Bloomsbury Collections

Search or browse for eBooks and eBook chapters to read online or download from a wide variety of topics including architecture, design, education, fashion, law, linguistics, music and sociology. COVID-19 outbreak - Access available until 31st May 2020.

Artfilms Digital

Stream documentaries, interviews and masterclass film and video with artists and independent film makers. COVID-19 outbreak - Access available until 30th September 2020.

Textile Institute Newsfeed

Textile Society Newsfeed