It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sport, Exercise and Physiotherapy: Finding Information
Databases index the literature of a subject area and some will also contain either full-text or links to full-text content. No single database will index everything in a topic, so it will often be necessary to search across two or more to find all the information you need.
The tabs above provide links to the key databases and some useful websites for the different areas of Sports Sciences; databases which can be useful to extend a search; and finally those useful for extended research. Please note: CINAHL and Medline are best viewed using the web browsers Chrome, Safari or Mozilla Firefox.
The Library website has a page dedicated to helping you search for information: click HERE
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full text links, on nursing, health visiting, midwifery and allied health topics.
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full-text links, on psychology, psychiatry, mental health and the social sciences.
Discover evidence to support decision making in health and social care. Includes access to NICE guidance, British National Formulary (BNF), British National Formulary for Children (BNFC) and Clinical Knowledge Summaries (CKS) plus NHS OpenAthens authenticated knowledge resources and the new NHS Library and Knowledge Hub.
ScienceDirect Freedom Collection includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.
Search or browse the following eBooks Brukner & Khan’s Clinical Sports Medicine: Injuries and Brukner & Khan's Clinical Sports Medicine: Exercise Medicine Collection plus view over 40 masterclass videos.
Scopus is one of the largest databases of abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from more than 5000 publishers, with coverage including science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities research.
The Department for Education publishes official statistics on education and children. We use data we collect on schools, children and young people. You can find information and commentary on these pages.
The Library has a huge range of print and e-Book titles to meet your needs.
Print books can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance.
e-Books are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off-campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.
You can access our print and e-Book collections through the Library Website search box.
e-books are accessible on or off campus and are easy to use.
Reading Lists Online provides access to the reading lists for your modules, as provided by your lecturers. Find your lists by searching for module names, module codes or by your lecturer's name. You can also follow the Reading Lists Online link from your module's Moodle page. See the how-to video HERE.
Individual items on the lists will take you directly to the Library Catalogue to check availability (or place a reservation) or where possible link through to the full text for many e-books and e-journals.
If you can't find your reading list have a word with your Tutor(s) or if you have problems with the site contact us at libanswers.bcu.ac.uk
The CRAAP Test
Evaluating resources for quality can be difficult. One way of doing this is by using the CRAAP test. This is a simple checklist used to get a feel for whether a piece of work is good enough for your purposes.
Is the information up to date, or is there more recent information you should be using?
Is the information relevant? Is it on topic?
Who has written it? Are they qualified to write on the subject? Who is the publisher?
Is the information correct?
Why was it written? Was it written for academic purposes? Who were the intended audience? Is there bias?
Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly journals. News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals. A journal can be useful:
to find up-to-date information; to find our what has been researched on your topic; to find information that points to other relevant research
You can search for journals using Library Search. Most of our journals are available online. Print-only journals are available in your campus library. If the article you need is not accessible directly from this university, you can request it via Inter-Library Loan.