Physiotherapy and Sports Therapy: Key Databases

This guide contains resources, help and support from the library for Physiotherapy and Sports Therapy

The databases below are core for your subject area

Please note: Library databases are best viewed using Chrome, Safari or Firefox.

SPORTDiscus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on exercise, fitness, sports and sports medicine.
Human Kinetics Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search, browse or explore by topic for ebooks and videos on exercise, fitness, health, physical activity and sport.
Access Physiotherapy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for eBooks and videos on physical therapy and physiotherapy.
Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Anatomy TV for 3D anatomical images and pictures of the human body or for information on diseases and conditions by speciality.
CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full text links, on nursing, health visiting, midwifery and allied health topics.

Learn how to use CINAHL with the health databases video guides.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search MEDLINE for abstracts & citations for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
PsycArticles and PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full-text links, on psychology, psychiatry, mental health and the social sciences.
PEDro This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PEDro, the Physiotherapy Evidence Database, is a free database of over 38,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.

Learn more about PEDro with the health databases help.

Springer Compact This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of health, humanities, medical, social sciences, science and technology subjects. Please note that access to all journals is not included.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for evidence to inform healthcare decisions. Includes access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Learn how to search Cochrane Library with the health databases video guides.

AMED This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles on alternative treatment topics including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.