Skip to Main Content

Operating Department Practice (ODP): Video guides

Video Guides and Tips

Searching the wwwIf you want advice on using the databases, help with search techniques or choice of databases for your topic contact the Mary Seacole Library Team who are happy to arrange one-to-one and small group tutorials, or use the Library online help available at Library Help.

Video guides to using the databases and finding the full text of papers can be found in the tabs below.

Finding the full text

Many of the journal indexing databases do not provide access to all of their indexed content. Library and Learning Resources subscribes to many journal titles which, though indexed by the databases, do not have the full text linked directly from the database. To make sure that you are able to link to all of the available titles and obtain the full text when they are not, prepare for your search by doing the following:

Preparing for a database search

To check the availability of full text where it is not linked from the database, open additional tabs in the browser to A-Z of Full Text, Google and the Inter-Library Request Form.

Finding the full text - From database to pdf

Some of the references found on a database will not have a full text link. By checking the A-Z of Journal Titles you see if the University subscribes to the journal title and, if it does, follow the links to he full text.

Finding the full text - From database via Google

Some references you find in a database will not be available through the University. Always check Google to see if there is any open access. If this fails use the Article request form to ask us to get it for you.

 

Finding a journal paper from a reading list, a reference given in class or a published reference list.

Finding a journal paper from the title in CINAHL

How to find a journal paper when the title of the paper is known and you have been directed to find it in CINAHL.

CINAHL

The following video guides demonstrate how to perform the various elements of a search on CINAHL. They have no soundtrack and none are longer than 60 seconds.

 

Accessing CINAHL from iCity

Entering the first search term

Entering a second search term

Combining search terms using AND

Limiting a search to full text and journals published in the UK and Ireland

Viewing the search results and full text

Printing a search history (search strategy)

Finding more keywords

This video describes how to use a journal article to generate keywords to help you find more articles using  database information. This video has sound.

Cochrane Library

The Cochrane Library consists of a series of databases, all of which can be searched together:

Video: Searching the Cochrane Library: Topic Searches

Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

The CDSR consists of Cochrane Systematic Reviews and Protocols for Systematic Reviews. These are Open Access and Full Text.

Video: Searching the Cochrane Library: The Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)

Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE) 

DARE consists of abstracts for systematic reviews that have been published in journals and by other organizations. Some of these may have links to Open Access full text.

Video: Searching the Cochrane Library: The Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effect (DARE)

Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCRCT)

CCRCT consists of references (with abstracts) to published controlled trials found in journals by the Cochrane Review Teams. These are not full text and therefore would need to be checked against the University holdings

Video: Searching the Cochrane Library: The Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CCRCT)

NHS Evidence

NHS Evidence is the main source for health and social care guidelines. It is managed by the National Institute for Health and Care Excellence (NICE) and includes guidelines from, among others, NICE, SCIE, SIGN, and the HTA Programme as well as the NICE Clinical Knowledge Summaries on current evidence and the British National Formulary (BNF).

NHS Evidence is open access and most of the documents it will find are open full text. Below are two videos which demonstrate basic searches of the two key resources (Evidence Search and CKS).

NHS Evidence - Evidence search

Video: NHS Evidence - Clinical Knowledge Summaries

Social Care Online

The following video guides demonstrate how to search Social Care Online. The videos have no soundtrack.

Video: Doing a Basic Search

Video: Combining terms to narrow or focus a search using AND

Video: Using the filters to find research papers published in the UK

Video: Finding the full text of journal papers

 

Snowball searching

Finding more articles from the References list of one good article

Video: Snowball searching

 

Science Direct

Video: Structured searching in Science Direct

This video explains how to build a structured search in the ScienceDirect database

Saving Searches

In many of the databases it is possible to set up a personal account which you can then use to save search strategies, individual references and set up alerts. These accounts are not usually with the database but with the host provider. Thus it can be possible to have one account which works across multiple databases.

For example: EBSCOhost supply us with CINAHL, Medline, PsycINFO, British Education Index, ERIC, Child Development & Adolescent Studies and GreenFILE. One account will work across all of these databases.

Setting up an account with EBSCOhost (video)

Saving a Search History in EBSCOhost (video)

How to save a search strategy for future use. This can help when you have limited time to review your results or are interrupted.

Rerunning a saved Search History in EBSCOhost (video)

Saving references in EBSCOhost. (video)

Creating Custom Folders in EBSCOhost. (video)

This can be a useful way of keeping track of your searches. Custom folders can be set for a topic or for a module.

Using Custom Folders in EBSCOhost. (video)

How to save a reference into a particular custom folder.

Creating an Alert in EBSCOhost. (video)

Alerts are useful if you are liable to need regular updating. For longer projects, where the literature search takes place early on, Alerts are a way of making sure that you are aware of anything published after the initial phase is complete.

Turning Research into Practice (TRiP)

TRiP is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

TRiP provides excellent guidance and how to get the most from the database on their How to use Trip page.

PEDro

Biomedical & Life Sciences Lectures

For more information on how to use this resource, the following videos may prove useful:

HSTalks - The Biomedical & Life Sciences Collection

Watch the HSTalk video on OCLC

HSTalks quick start tutorial

Watch the tutorial on the OCLC website

You can also download the quick start guide PDF file.

Accessibility Statement