Skip to main content

Operating Department Practice (ODP): Finding Information

Key databases and websites

Databases index the literature of a subject area and some will also contain either full-text or links to full-text content. No single database will index everything in a topic, so it will often be necessary to search across two or more to find all the information you need.

The tabs above provide links to the key databases and some useful websites for the different areas of Operating Department Practice, databases which can be useful to extend a search and finally those useful for extended research. Please note: CINAHL and Medline are best viewed using the web browsers Chrome, Safari or Mozilla Firefox. 

The Library website has a page dedicated to helping you search for information: click HERE

 

Health & Care Professions Council

 

The HCPC main page.

  Department of Health
 

The main page for the Department of Health. 

  NHS England
 

NHS England provides links to key policy documents and statistics.

  College of Operating Department Practitioners (CODP)
 

CODP is the recognised professional body for all Operating Department Practitioners. Our role is to promote our profession, and to develop its future on behalf of all members of the profession. We define standards of practice, ensure these are backed up through documentation and a professional curriculum delivered by universities, and we engage with the Health and Care Professional Council and other professional bodies to ensure that Operating Department Practitioners will continue to bring appropriate expertise to the perioperative team. 

  Critical Appraisal Skills Programme
 

The CASP Checklists are a key resource for the critical appraisal of primary and secondary research.

  Health & Social Care Information Centre (HSCIC)
 

Health and Social Care data analysis and quality assurance standards.

  National Confidential Enquiry Into Patient Outcome and Death
 

The distinctive feature of NCEPOD's contribution is the critical examination, by senior and appropriately chosen specialists, of what has actually happened to the patients.  Our recommendations have covered everything from individual clinical practice to national healthcare organisation, always with the aim of improving patient care and safety.

  Office for National Statistics
 

The Office for National Statistics publishes data and reports on Health and Social Care. Regular reporting topics include: Health Care Patients, Causes of Death, Mental Health Services, Lifestyles and Behaviours, Conditions and Diseases, Diability and Self-Reported Health and Health Inequalities.

  Royal College of Anaesthetists
 

Anaesthesia is the largest single hospital specialty in the NHS. The Royal College of Anaesthetists is the professional body responsible for the specialty throughout the UK, and it ensures the quality of patient care through the maintenance of standards in anaesthesia, critical care and pain medicine.

  Royal College of Surgeons of England
 

The Royal College of Surgeons of England is a professional membership organisation and registered charity, representing surgeons in the UK and abroad. We advance surgical standards and improve care for patients.

  British Association of Aesthetic Plastic Surgeons
 

The BAAPS is based at the Royal College of Surgeons and was established for the advancement of education in, and the practice of aesthetic surgery for public benefit.

  Vascular Services Quality Improvement Programme
 

This website is the home of the Vascular Society and partner organisations quality improvement programmes. Our aim is to drive up the quality of care for patients with vascular disease in the UK. 

RSPH Allied Health Professionals Hub

Resources for all UK AHPs to protect and improve public heath

Books and ebooks

The Library has a huge range of print and e-Book titles to meet your needs.

Print books can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance.

e-Books are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off-campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.

You can access our print and e-Book collections through the Library Website search box.

e-books are accessible on or off campus and are easy to use.

Here's a guide to downloading DawsonEra e-books

Here are some YouTube video guides for Ebook Central

Here's an Accessibility Guide to Ebook Central e-books

Here's a Quick Start guide to our Ebook Central collection

Reading Lists Online  provides access to the reading lists for your modules, as provided by your lecturers. Find your lists by searching for module names, module codes or by your lecturer's name. You can also follow the Reading Lists Online link from your module's Moodle page.

Individual items on the lists will take you directly to the Library Catalogue to check availability (or place a reservation) or where possible link through to the full text for many e-books and e-journals.

If you can't find your reading list have a word with your Tutor(s) or if you have problems with the site contact us at libanswers.bcu.ac.uk

Using Other Libraries

It is impossible for one library to hold all the information you need, but there are a number of ways that you can access other resources:

  • The Inter-Library Loans service will get you books and articles we don't hold.
  • SCONUL Access allows you to visit other academic libraries and use their print resources;
  • ETHOS  provides access to Ph.D. theses for UK universities;
  • COPAC is a catalogue of the holdings of over 90 UK academic and specialist libraries

Journals

Click here for a guide to finding articles via Summon

Summon

Summon searches across all our print books and journals, the majority of our electronic journals, our ebooks and a number of our databases. When you enter a search in Summon you will get references to books, journal articles, newspapers and more.

Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly journals.  News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals. A journal can be useful:

  • to find up-to-date information; to find our what has been researched on your topic; to find information that points to other relevant research

A full list of our online journals is available on our A - Z of e-journals ListingPrint-only journals are available in your campus library. If the article you need is not accessible directly from this university, you can request it via Inter-Library Loan.