Jewellery, Horology and Gemmology: Industry Resources
Image Credit: BCU Assets
The library has a wealth of resources to help broaden your knowledge and understanding of the industry:
- Key industry resources, look out for case studies, fashion business resources, sustainability and ethics, and find industry contacts and influencers.
- Sustainability and ethics resources.
- General news resources.
Some of the sources below you will access via BCU library subscriptions and some will be freely available online. You should also explore books, academic journals and articles to support your research.
Industry Resources
Jewellery academic and business resources.
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography.
- Bloomsbury Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library is the leading resource for students and researchers of fashion studies. Interdisciplinary in nature, with great visual and integrated content, it is invaluable for researchers in the areas of fashion, museum studies, cultural studies, anthropology, and more. - Bloomsbury Fashion Business Cases This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for case studies to support the development of essential business skills required in the fashion industry. - Bloomsbury Fashion Video Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Watch from over 2,500 videos of fashion shows, with accompanying text, from London, Milan, New York and Paris between 1979 to 2003. - Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles and news items on topics including advertising, art, ceramics, crafts, fashion, glass, jewellery, industrial design, interior design, photography and textiles.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects. - Klimt02 This link opens in a new window
A collection of news, images, videos, profiles, publications and blog posts on contemporary jewellery.
- LS:N Global This link opens in a new windowDiscover consumer and market trends to support beauty, fashion, food and drink, health and wellness, retail and travel business and industry decision making.
- Vogue Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse the American edition of Vogue magazine from the very first issue in 1892 to present day.
Sustainability and Ethics
Resources on sustainability and ethics in the jewellery industry.
Some library subscriptions included, as well as some freely available resources.
Remember to evaluate information you find online and assess credibility, for help see our online course: Navigating the Library.
- Common Objective This link opens in a new windowBusiness database for the ethical and sustainable fashion industry from the Ethical Fashion Forum.
- Fashion Transparency IndexReview of the 200 largest global fashion brands and retailers, ranked according to how much they disclose about their social and environmental policies ...
- Responsible Jewellery CouncilBrings together over 1700 global companies from watch makers, jewellery supply chain and to mining.
Photo by Amplitude Magazin on Unsplash
General news
General news sources, national and international, local and regional.
- Nexis This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Nexis for news, business and companies information including from UK and International local and regional newspapers
- Gale OneFile News This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Browse or search for articles from UK and international newspapers