Health and Social Care: Key Databases

This guide contains resources, help and support from the library for Health and Social Care

The databases below are core for your subject area

Please note: Library databases are best viewed using Chrome, Safari or Firefox.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full text links, on nursing, health visiting, midwifery and allied health topics.

Learn how to use CINHAL with the health databases video guides.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search MEDLINE for abstracts & citations for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
PsycArticles and PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full-text links, on psychology, psychiatry, mental health and the social sciences.
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for evidence to inform healthcare decisions. Includes access to the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials and Cochrane Clinical Answers.

Learn how to search Cochrane Library with the health databases video guides.

Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse Anatomy TV for 3D anatomical images and pictures of the human body or for information on diseases and conditions by speciality.
Community Care Inform Adults This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Practice-related social care and social work information including guidance, legislation, research, videos and podcasts for professionals working with vulnerable adults.
Community Care Inform Children This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Practice-related social care and social work information including guidance, legislation, research, videos and podcasts for professionals working with children, young people and families.

Learn how to search Social Care Online with the health databases video guides.

ASSIA: Applied Social Sciences Index and Abstracts This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations of journal articles on topics including health, education, psychology, social care and sociology.
Statista This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Statista is a global data and business intelligence platform with an extensive collection of statistics, reports, and insights on over 80,000 topics from 22,500 sources in 170 industries.
AMED This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles on alternative treatment topics including complementary medicine, physiotherapy, occupational therapy and rehabilitation.