Food and Nutrition: Key Databases

This guide contains resources, help and support from the library for Nutrition and Food Science

The databases below are core for your subject area

Please note: Library databases are best viewed using Chrome, Safari or Firefox.

CINAHL Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full text links, on nursing, health visiting, midwifery and allied health topics.

Learn how to use CINHAL with the health databases video guides.

MEDLINE This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Complied by the U.S. National Library of Medicine, search MEDLINE for abstracts & citations for journal articles on health and life sciences topics including medicine, nursing and allied health.
Nutrition and Food Science Database This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations, including some with full-text access, of journal articles and research reviews on topics including diet and nutrition, clinical nutrition, food safety and storage, food science, food processing and technology and food law and economics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.

Learn more about ScienceDirect with the health databases video guides.

Springer Compact This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Springer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of health, humanities, medical, social sciences, science and technology subjects. Please note that access to all journals is not included.
PsycArticles and PsycInfo This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, books, book chapters and theses & dissertations, including some with full-text links, on psychology, psychiatry, mental health and the social sciences.