Film and Screenwriting: Academic Journals and Articles
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Academic journals are published much more frequently than books.
- they can respond to topical issues,
- publish the latest research and
- provide the most up-to date information.
Articles are generally shorter than books.
- articles can be more focussed
- cover narrower and more individual or specialised topics.
- can provide literature for a topic such as an essay or dissertation.
Academic Journals are peer-reviewed. This means that any articles published within them have been assessed for quality and accuracy by experts in the field.
Most articles in scholarly journals include a statement of methodology and a bibliography or list of references.
Academic Journals available from the Library
- Film & HistoryStudies how history is being shaped by media & how media are being shaped by history. Examines the evolution of genre over time & how the changes in genre formulas are affected by contemporary pressures. Reviews relevant books, films & TV specials.
- Film-philosophyFilm-Philosophy is dedicated to the engagement between film studies and philosophy, exploring the ways in which films develop and contribute to philosophical discussion. The journal also provides a forum for the thoughtful re-evaluation of key aspects of both film studies and philosophy as academic disciplines.
- Film internationalAims not to be just a scholarly journal, but a new breed of film magazine, mixing established academic film scholars (and other scholars) with renowned film journalists, trying to reach a wider circle of readers.
- New review of film and television studiesOne of the leading media studies journals, New Review of Film and Television Studies publishes peer-reviewed research on the theory, history, aesthetics, and politics of expressive screen culture. Committed to a broad definition of film and television studies, NRFTS welcomes articles on digital, sound, video, and web-based media.
- Quarterly review of film and videoQuarterly Review of Film and Video publishes critical, historical, and theoretical essays, book reviews, and interviews in the area of moving image studies including film, video, and digital imagery studies. Our scope is international and interdisciplinary. Contributions from diverse critical, theoretical, and historical perspectives are welcome.
- Scope (Nottingham, England)Scope was a fully peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Department of Culture, Film and Media and Institute for Screen Industries Research at the University of Nottingham.
Scope published from 1999-2014. - ScreenScreen is the leading international journal of academic film and television studies. From video art to popular television, from Hollywood to Hong Kong, from art cinema to British film finance, Screen authors cover a wide range of issues, both contemporary and historical, from a variety of disciplinary perspectives.
- Sight and Sound (inc. Monthly Film Bulletin)A publication of the British Film Institute. Feature articles and interviews on recent motion pictures, notes on festivals, book reviews and film and video reviews.
Academic Databases
Academic Databases are online resources where you can search the articles of multiple Academic Journals all at once.
Below are links to Academic Databases which contain articles on Film and Screenwriting topics:
- Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography.
- Box of Broadcasts (BoB) This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learning on Screen's on demand TV and radio service for education.
- International Index to Film Periodicals (FIAF) This link opens in a new windowAbstracts and citations from academic and popular film and cinema journals.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects. - Kanopy This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Stream over 20,000 films and documentaries to watch.
- Routledge Performance Archive This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for practitioner overviews, commentary and videos for streaming on dance, performance and theatre.
- Television and Radio Index for Learning and Teaching This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search or browse current and previous UK television and radio listings.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search Web of Science for abstracts and citations of journals, books and conference proceedings from science, social sciences and arts & humanities subjects.
