Games and Animation: Academic Journals and Articles
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Academic journals are published much more frequently than books.
- they can respond to topical issues,
- publish the latest research and
- provide the most up-to date information.
Articles are generally shorter than books.
- articles can be more focussed
- cover narrower and more individual or specialised topics.
- can provide literature for a topic such as an essay or dissertation.
Academic Journals are peer-reviewed. This means that any articles published within them have been assessed for quality and accuracy by experts in the field.
Most articles in scholarly journals include a statement of methodology and a bibliography or list of references.
Academic Journals available from the Library
- Digital Games Research Association Digital LibraryFull-text of papers from DIGRA conferences
- EAI Endorsed Transactions on Serious GamesEAI Endorsed Transactions on Serious Games is an open access, peer-reviewed scholarly journal focused on serious games applications, serious games technology, serious games analytics, user experience design and more. The journal publishes research articles, review articles, commentaries, editorials, technical articles, and short communications with a biannual frequency.
- Game Developers ConferenceThe Game Developers Conference (GDC) brings the game development community together to exchange ideas, solve problems, and shape the future of the industry across five days of education, inspiration, and networking. Attendees include programmers, artists, producers, game designers, audio professionals, and business leaders
- Game Studies: International Journal of Computer Games ResearchGame Studies is a non-profit, open-access, crossdisciplinary journal dedicated to games research.
Our primary focus is aesthetic, cultural and communicative aspects of computer games, but any previously unpublished article focused on games and gaming is welcome. - International Journal of Computer Games TechnologyInternational Journal of Computer Games Technology publishes original research and review articles on both the research and development aspects of games technology covering the whole range of entertainment computing and interactive digital media.
- ToDiGRA: Transactions of the Digital Games Research AssociationToDIGRA is a quarterly, international, open access, refereed, multidisciplinary journal dedicated to research on and practice in all aspects of games. ToDiGRA captures the wide variety of research within the game studies community combining, for example, humane science with sociology, technology with design, and empirics with theory.
Academic Databases
Academic Databases are online resources where you can search the articles of multiple Academic Journals all at once.
Below are links to Academic Databases which contain articles on Visual Communication topics:
- ACM Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for full-text content from the Association for Computing Machinery publications including journals, conference proceedings, magazines and newsletters.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to books, journal articles, conference proceedings and standards of technical information for electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.
- JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new windowAccess to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects.
- Lecture Notes in Computer Science This link opens in a new windowSearch or browse the Lecture Notes in Computer Science series of books and conference proceedings for research and development information on computer science and information technology.
- Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new windowSearch for articles and images on ancient to modern art and architecture from sources including the Grove Dictionary of Art
- SAE Mobilus This link opens in a new window
Search or browse eBooks, eJournals and technical papers for aerospace, automotive and commercial vehicle engineering information.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect includes access to over 3,000 full-text journals from Elsevier covering a wide range of subjects including computer science, engineering, health sciences, life sciences and social sciences and humanities.
- Springer Compact This link opens in a new windowSpringer Compact includes access to over 2,000 full-text journals covering a wide range of health, humanities, medical, social sciences, science and technology subjects.
