Art and Design: Academic Journals and Articles
This guide brings together key Library resources to help you find information relating to Fine Art and Art and Design.
Image Credit: BCU Assets
Academic journals are published much more frequently than books.
- they can respond to topical issues,
- publish the latest research and
- provide the most up-to date information.
Articles are generally shorter than books.
- articles can be more focussed
- cover narrower and more individual or specialised topics.
- can provide literature for a topic such as an essay or dissertation.
Academic Journals are peer-reviewed. This means that any articles published within them have been assessed for quality and accuracy by experts in the field.
Most articles in scholarly journals include a statement of methodology and a bibliography or list of references.
Academic Databases
Academic Databases are online resources where you can search the articles of multiple Academic Journals all at once.
Below are links to Academic Databases which contain articles on Visual Communication topics:
- ARTbibliographies Modern This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Search or browse for abstracts and citations of journal articles on modern and contemporary art including photography. - Art Full Text This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles, including some with full text links, on art, architecture, film and photography. - Design and Applied Arts Index This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Search for abstracts and citations of journal articles and news items on topics including advertising, art, ceramics, crafts, fashion, glass, jewellery, industrial design, interior design, photography and textiles. - JSTOR Archival Journals and Primary Sources Collection This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access to archive journal and primary source collections on a broad range of subjects.
Databases icons key:
Help pages and user guide.
Open Access.
Podcast available.
App available.
Library dashboard post.