Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Radiography, Radiotherapy and Ultrasound: Finding Information

Key databases and websites

Databases index the literature of a subject area and some will also contain either full-text or links to full-text content. No single database will index everything in a topic, so it will often be necessary to search across two or more to find all the information you need.

The tabs above provide links to the key databases and some useful websites for the different areas of medical imaging; databases which can be useful to extend a search; and finally those useful for extended research. Please note: CINAHL and Medline are best viewed using the web browsers Chrome, Safari or Mozilla Firefox. 

The Library website has a page dedicated to helping you search for information: click HERE

 

Library and Learning Resources have developed a series of Moodle pages, to help you gain a better understanding of information and searching. To access these pages please click here

Books and ebooks

The Library has a huge range of print and e-Book titles to meet your needs.

Print books can be a great place to start your research, but remember that demand can be high, so you'll need to plan in advance.

e-Books are a quick and easy way to access material. They are available on or off-campus and can be used 24 hours a day. If you own a tablet device, these books can be viewed easily wherever you have a connection to the internet. These titles also allow limited printing.

You can access our print and e-Book collections through the Library Website search box.

e-books are accessible on or off campus and are easy to use.

Here's a video guide for Ebook Central

Here's an Accessibility Guide to Ebook Central e-books

Here's a Quick Start guide for Ebsco ebooks

Reading Lists Online  provides access to the reading lists for your modules, as provided by your lecturers. Find your lists by searching for module names, module codes or by your lecturer's name. You can also follow the Reading Lists Online link from your module's Moodle page. See the how-to video HERE.

Individual items on the lists will take you directly to the Library Catalogue to check availability (or place a reservation) or where possible link through to the full text for many e-books and e-journals.

If you can't find your reading list have a word with your Tutor(s) or if you have problems with the site contact us at libanswers.bcu.ac.uk

The CRAAP Test

 

Evaluating resources for quality can be difficult. One way of doing this is by using the CRAAP test. This is a simple checklist used to get a feel for whether a piece of work is good enough for your purposes.

 

Currency Is the information up to date, or is there more recent information you should be using?
Relevance Is the information relevant? Is it on topic?
Authority Who has written it? Are they qualified to write on the subject? Who is the publisher?
Accuracy Is the information correct?
Purpose Why was it written? Was it written for academic purposes? Who were the intended audience? Is there bias?

 

Recommended Websites for Radiography & Radiotherapy

You'll know that there is a lot of good stuff out there on the internet, provided you make sure the information comes from a reputable source! You'll have your own favourites, and your tutor and friends will recommend others.  Here are sites we think you might find useful.
  • Anatomy TV This link opens in a new window Anatomy.tv is an anatomy database that also contains MRI images. Once you choose the body part you wish to view, select the 'slides' option on the left hand side of the page to view MRI images.
  • MedPix MedPix® is a free online Medical Image Database and Radiology Portal, provided by the Departments of Radiology and Biomedical Informatics, Uniformed Services University, Bethesda, MD. Images can be used for teaching and learning within SHU and the image creator should be acknowledged (referenced). For use outside of BCU copyright permission should be sought.

Using Other Libraries

It is impossible for one library to hold all the information you need, but there are a number of ways that you can access other resources:

  • The Inter-Library Loans service will get you books and articles we don't hold.
  • SCONUL Access allows you to visit other academic libraries and use their print resources;
  • ETHOS  provides access to Ph.D. theses for UK universities;
  • COPAC is a catalogue of the holdings of over 90 UK academic and specialist libraries

Journals

Journals cover a range of sources, including newspapers; magazines and scholarly journals.  News and research around your subject area are usually published first in journals. A journal can be useful:

  • to find up-to-date information; to find our what has been researched on your topic; to find information that points to other relevant research

You can search for journals using Library Search. Most of our journals are available online. Print-only journals are available in your campus library. If the article you need is not accessible directly from this university, you can request it via Inter-Library Loan.

 

You can also use the Advanced Search.

Accessibility Statement