Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Project Management: Professional development

Employability support

Professional certification

International market research

Open to Export - free export advice for international growth from The Institute of Export & International Trade, dedicated to helping small UK businesses get ready to export and expand internationally.

i. Department for International Trade

provides advice on the most effective means of developing British trade and investment in overseas markets. Its Export Country Guides provide a country profile, advice on doing business and links to specific websites for each country. Its support for exporters is through its https://www.great.gov.uk/uk/ website.

ii. Statistical agencies

Statistical sources are the most basic form of market data. The International Statistics Institute provides a directory of national statistical offices on its web page http://www.isi-web.org/index.php/resources/national-statistical-offices.

iii. International organizations

globalEDGE is partly funded by the US Department of Education and acts as a portal to statistical data for >200 countries around the world. Its resources page provides links to the key government sources, news sites and regulatory agency sites.

OECD iLibrary links to data by country and by theme. It provides annual Economic Surveys, data from its Main Economic Indicators and data from its Science, Technology and Industry Outlook series.

World Bank Country Data is taken from the World Development Indicators database. The Country-at-a-glance tables deliver two pages of key social and economic indicators for each country, tracing trends in development over the last three decades. The Country Profile Tables deliver more detailed information on the economy, infrastructure and population.

iv. UK publisher country profiles and surveys

The Financial Times publish World Reports supplements to the national newspaper. These Surveys are detailed under the Regions tab on their web page http://www.ft.com/reports/library.

The Economist publishes Country Briefings in conjunction with the Economist Intelligence Unit, and, although there is considerable content which requires you to register, some details are available.

i Local and overseas trade associations

The Trade Association Forum website http://www.taforum.org/Members provides details of the UK’s trade associations. For example, for Hawick Knitwear, the UK Fashion and Textile Association, provided important advice by advising the company to focus on Japan rather than China as its export market. As the Managing Director stated: “You're putting lots of money, time, resource, effort, reputation, talent, into an overseas push, and it is frightening.”

ii Trade Journals

Trade journals usually supply product and process information, technical articles, news and details of events and shows, advertisements and jobs.

ABI/Inform Global provides summaries of articles from over 1500 of the world’s leading international business and management titles, with over 820 delivered as full-text and abstracts to a further 700. It provides the full-text of articles and reports, except the current month, from the Financial Times. The Trade & Industry database contains more than 750 business periodicals and newsletters with a trade or industry focus. There is an option to email results.

iii. Newspapers

Nexis UK contains a News Section which includes content from over 33,000 sources of the world’s leading newspapers and magazines. You need to enter additional search terms and restrict your search by date to avoid finding more than 1,000 entries which it will not display. You can search the site from off-site by using your network username and password.

iv Trade Shows

The Department for International Trade's Events page is updated regularly with both UK and overseas events as well as overseas missions, and opportunities across the Tradeshow Access Programme (TAP). Information about forthcoming events will also be given in trade journals. Trade shows are likely to cost money to enter. As the Sales Manager at Hawick International confirmed: “Trade shows are a great gateway into the international market. It gets us in front of customers from all over the world”.

MarketLine Advantage publishes industry profiles covering industrial and commercial sectors in key geographical areas. Each report details market size, the competitive landscape and market futures.

Passport, market intelligence service from Euromonitor that provides key business intelligence on countries, companies, markets and consumers covering over 350 markets and 207 countries.

Association for Project Management twitter feed

Accessibility Statement